Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


"You think your life is sad? I spent my Friday evening talking to you!"

2002-10-07 - 4:06 p.m.

I was going to write a long retrospective blow by blow account of this past weekend, but now I just don't feel like it.

And I was going to do a bit of introspection, but what does that get me but pain and humiliation?

What I really need to do is read up on the treatment of insulin resistance. But I don't want to!

I'm in the middle of a couple of books right now. One (Posession)because I want to, the other (Seven Habits) because I have to. I thought maybe I'd give a quote from each. I actually expected "Seven Habits" to preach a lot of crap that I wouldn't believe at all, but I'm 35 pages in and its really not that bad. At least not yet. For example, here's a bit that actually supports some stuff I believe:

Suppose you wanted to arrive at a specific location in central Chicago. A street map of the city would be a great help to you in reaching your destination. But suppose you were given the wrong map. Through a printing error, the map labeled "Chicago" was actually a map of Detroit. Can you imagine the frustration, the ineffectiveness of trying to reach your destination?

You might work on your
behavior--you could try harder, be more diligent, double your speed. But your efforts would only succeed in getting you to the wrong place faster.

You might work on your
attitude--you could think more positively. You still wouldn't get to the right place, but perhaps you wouldn't care. Your attitude would be so positive, you'd be happy wherever you were.

The point is, you'd still be lost. The fundamental problem has nothing to do with your behavior or your attitude. It has everything to do with having a wrong map.

And the quote I'd like to give you from "Posession" is actually about journaling. Here is what she has to say:

If you can order your Thoughts and shape them in to Art, good: if you can live in the obligation and affections of Daily Life, good. But do not get into the habit of morbid Self-examination. Nothing so unfits a woman for producing good work, or for living usefully. The Lord will take care of the second of these--opportunities will be found. The first is a matter of Will.


One Good Thing:
Song of the Day:
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->