Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Getting old

2002-10-20 - 4:18 p.m.

I went to the volleyball open gym today. When I first got there, no one was there. There wasn't a car in the parking lot. I was a tad early. I sat in my car for a bit and waited, then I got out and tried the door. It was locked. I was starting to get a bit exasperated. I walked around the building and when I got back to the front there was a man there opening the door. It ended up being really fun. About 10 people showed up and we played five on five for about two hours. The level of play was just about perfect for me. I'd say there were three people below me, two people on the same level as me, and two people better than me. Hmm...ok, scratch that, we were playing four on four. :) I was happy with how well I can still play. I was unhappy with the fact that I am sadly out of shape. I was thinking that with the running three times a week I would be in better shape. But I don't do anything with weights, so I wasn't at all prepared for the jumping, squatting, and diving involved. I'm going to be incredibly sore tomorrow. Hopefully I will be able to get out of bed. My thighs are complaining loudly about today's misuse. Plus I got about five blisters on my feet, one of them popped and is more of an ulcer now. My right hand and both forearms are covered in petechiae from hitting the ball. And I've got large bruises on both knees. But it was so much fun! I'm so glad I went, even if I did go by myself. So now I have seven new friends and the best part is that I'll be able to go to both sessions during November.

Ok, now I have to read about purchasing and inventory control for Cheesecake. Tomorrow I'm going to spend all day at the hospital. I suppose I could come home and then go back...I don't know. I should stay so that I will get my metabolic syndrome presentation done. I have to finish it tomorrow. I figure I can bring my computer to the library and just do it there so I don't have to hassle with copying articles and trying to check out journals. Princess didn't ask for a copy of my resources, and I'm thinking she doesn't really care about it anyway. As long as I do it and do a decent job of it. But I have to give Jose a copy of my finished power point by Tuesday. The reason why I'm staying at the hospital for so long is that pharmacy week is this week. One of the things we're doing is selling cheap brand name OTCs in the hospital cafeteria. I think our biggest customers are the nurses. They come and stock up for the year. We sell 'em for a buck a bottle. But the nurses on night shift complain because we only do things during the day. So we are selling them until 7:30pm. And I volunteered to man the booth for the last hour. Which means I won't be home until 8 tomorrow, but at least there won't be any traffic going home!

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day:
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->