Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


My name's blah, I'm from blah...

2002-11-10 - 4:14 p.m.

This morning I was in a good mood. I couldn't stop smiling as I was entering orders. I probably looked like a complete idiot, but I didn't care. So what had me feeling so uppity? Was it getting up at 5 in the morning? Was it the five car pile up I witnessed several hundred yards in front of me on the way to work this morning? Was it my imminent P&T committee presentation which I am not at all prepared for and for which I have no idea how I will find time to prepare? No, surprisingly enough, it was none of these things. I actually got up the nerve last night to tell Somnambulist I'd give him a call today. I forgot when I told him that that it would be raining today. And of course cell phones are prohibited in the hospital. It turned out to not be raining too hard but it was really windy (see Eucalia fact #100) and pretty darn cold. I found myself a spot on the window sill under an overhang outside of radiology. Bundled in my coat and gloves and with my hair tied up against the wind, I punched the Somnambulist button on my cell. And what do you know, he answered. He didn't sound like I expected, but when I think about it, I didn't actually have an expectation about that. I was rather shocked to find that he sounded like Zed, though. But without the lusty overtones. And the more he talked, the more I decided he didn't sound like Zed after all. At any rate, the first phone call is out of the way so now all of you who have been bugging Somnambulist about it can move on to something else. All that's left for me is to find out whether or not I scared him away. Scared away as in, "Holy mackerel, this girl is even more boring than how she describes herself."

After my lunch break I went back up to the sixth floor. As I was on my way up someone coded in the sixth floor ICU. When I got to the pharmacy there was a general exclamation of gratitude to various deities and the one pharmacist who was there yelled for me to hold down the fort as he sprinted out the door to the code. Apparently someone else had just coded elsewhere in the hospital. I am perfectly capable of holding down the fort, I swear, but a few minutes after he left, a third code was called! And get this, this one was out in the main lobby. So there we were with three concomitant codes, one of them in the foyer to the lobby. It was pretty crazy for a bit, but then it slowed right down.


One Good Thing:
Song of the Day:
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->