Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Dancing broccoli

2002-11-13 - 8:48 p.m.

Today I was in a good mood almost the entire day. I don't know what was wrong with me. At about 3:30 I was walking down a hall in the hospital trying not to grin like a fool when I passed Barbara, a med student, going the other way. She said, "Going home?" in a way that implied that why else would I be smiling so much? Or maybe I just imagined that and she assumed that I was going home from the fact that I was walking away from the peds ward...

Anyway, I stayed up until about 11:30 last night working on my pegylated interferon presentation for today. Mostly I just did my information collecting and compiled everything into a nice chart which I could hand out to all the attendees of the P&T meeting. I went to work at the usual time, but instead of rounding with the peds team, I stayed at the residents' desk and worked on writing up an outline so I could talk about hep C in general. I knew the whole epidemiology, pathophysiology, and all the other treatment options. But when I got there and looked around the room, I knew almost all the people there and I knew that they all knew more about hep C than I did and they wouldn't enjoy a stupid little pharm resident wasting their time with basics. They wanted a comparison of the pegylated interferons, not the other stuff. So I chopped down my presentation to the essentials and it went just fine. Stupid thing was, the doctor that requested someone do the comparison, didn't even show up to the meeting. So they ended up tabling the whole thing until he shows up. So that basically made my whole talk pointless. But whatever. Now I'm really done with Princess.

But of course the P&T committee was at South City. And guess who was working at South City today? Yup, Spike. When I arrived there, all the dieticians were rehearsing for a skit they are going to do at local elementary schools promoting the five a day. You know, eat five servings of fruits and vegetables a day. Anyway, they have one dietician wearing an apron and emceeing the whole thing, while the other dieticians are dressed up as various fruits and vegetables. They had rented some costumes from Dole...they were a carrot, apple, strawberry, banana, broccoli, and a head of lettuce. Actually, it wasn't so much of a skit as a song and dance number. They all had giant shoes and big gloved hands like Mickey Mouse (except the lettuce and the broccoli who had no hands) and they danced around. The best was the dancing lettuce. I mean how do you dance if you're wearing a giant head of lettuce? Anyway, when I saw Spike he was inside the broccoli costume, so of course I didn't know who he was. Later, he came up to me, still wearing his giant shoes and a tad sweaty from dancing around inside a giant broccoli, and told me he'd changed his phone number. I let him give it to me, but I made no indication beyond accepting it that I would ever call him.

And oh yes, I had a dream last night. I don't remember too much about it, but I do remember some. Somnambulist came to visit unexpectedly. For some reason, I think a business trip, he was going to be in Sac for one day. Only I didn't know it was only for one day. Anyway, he showed up here in Sac and we went out on the town. I don't remember that part though. What I remember is he was dropping me off at my house. He walked me up to my door. But as we were walking up, my mom came out the door because she was taking out the trash. My mom still didn't know who Somnambulist was so she just sort of eyed him warily and continued with the trash. But then Somnambulist tried to kiss me. That in itself was not bad, but geez, my mom was right there. So I turned away from him, but tried to be all casual about it like it wasn't a big deal, trying not to offend him or attract my mom's attention, while hoping that he would get the hint. But he didn't. He tried again, and I did the same thing. One more time and then he got mad and stalked away down the driveway towards his car, a little red Mazda Miata. At the same time my mom finished the trash and went inside. I felt really guilty and ran off after him. He was already in the driver's seat of the car and I leaned in the passenger side window and tried to make things better. I said, "Well, how long are you going to be around? Can we go out again tomorrow?" He said, "I'm just here tonight." And that was the end of my dream.

There are actually several other things I wanted to address here, but at the moment I'm not feeling awake enough to put in the appropriate level of thought. The other things I wanted to address are a tad more personal. So I guess I will leave them alone for now and hope that I will be in the mood to discuss them later.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day:
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->