Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


The valiant taste death but once.

2003-01-22 - 12:06 p.m.

This morning I worked up one new start TPN. I have it all calculated out and everything, but honestly, I'm not convinced the guy needs a TPN. He's been NPO since the 16th, but he's not NPO anymore. He took in 1.6 liters yesterday and this morning when I went by to see him he was sitting there eating scrambled eggs. And the guy is by no means cachectic, he weighs 116 kilos. Anyway, Milkshake is in San Antonio so Kitty is the designated TPN pharmacist this week. So I have to go over it with him, but he's busy going over stuff with other people. I paged him an hour ago and he said he would page me back when he's ready for me. I've been sitting here waiting for a page, certain that as soon as I start something, he'll page and I'll have to take off. No luck yet.

I've been participating at Swappingtons. One of the things I think is cool about it is that so far most of the users are from Diaryland. So I can go check to see a bit what the people I'm interacting with are like in their diaries. Both billyidol and asteroidbelt are supposed to be sending me books. Yesterday on the way home from work I dropped one in the mail for blank01. I can't help it, it's fun.

For some reason yesterday I was in a really good mood. I was driving home from work and Phil Vassar's "This is God" came on the radio. I hadn't heard it before, even though Aroha had talked about it in her journal earlier and I had downloaded it from Kazaa, I just hadn't gotten around to actually listening to it. Turns out I really like it. Not a surprise. Phil Vassar is an awesome songwriter. I stopped by Mailboxes Etc. to mail the book yesterday. I walked in carrying the little package, held it up, and said to the man behind the counter, "I'd like to mail this." He took it from me and said, "Why are you smiling?" I don't think I was smiling any more than is normal and polite, but who knows, I don't always pay attention to whether I'm smiling or not. I said, "Why not?" which made everyone else in the store (yes, both of them) laugh and he responded with a grunt. I payed him the two bucks for postage and as he handed me my receipt I gave him a purposefully big, albeit real, smile and turned around to leave. As I was walking out he called after me, "Keep smiling, keep smiling."

Tonight is my first game with my new team. I didn't go to the open gym at the church this week because I was sick, but I'm feeling much better now. I can breathe and everything. I thought the game tonight was at 8, but this morning when I checked the schedule I discovered that we're playing at 6. The gym where the games are is not particularly close to my house. So I ended up packing all my stuff and bringing it to work with me so I can go straight there from here. I have no idea how to get there from here but I'll hit Mapquest before I leave and it shouldn't be a problem.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day:
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->