Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Being nice for extended periods of time

2003-02-14 - 9:47 a.m.

I just took a walk around the hospital. I stopped to see everything important. I made mental notes of interesting things to point out along the way. I went up to the 14th floor and looked out to see all the other buildings on campus. It took me half an hour. Why did I do these things? Because we are interviewing potential residents for next year and the job of giving tours has fallen to me. These tours are supposed to last for an hour each. How in the world am I going to entertain anyone for a whole hour? I could probably manage it for fifteen minutes. Hopefully I'll get a chatty group that will entertain themselves. When people are looking for meaningless small talk, I'm not the one they turn to. At least not more than once. It's just not my thing. And now I have to do it for what seems like an interminable amount of time. It's ok, though, I can handle it. I can.

**********

And now it's time for the

1. Explain why you started to journal/blog.

Well, I suppose I've been doing this for a great deal of my life, I only recently took it online though. I've always loved to write about what I'm thinking, feeling, and doing. But it's just not so fun when you know nobody is ever going to read it. My personal diaries never lasted for very long. But I loved to write long letters to friends. I had one friend in particular to whom I would write every day and at the end of the week put all the pages in an envelope and send 'em off. She would do the same thing to me. It's actually quite a bit like Diaryland, don't you think? Only on Diaryland you do that with more than one person at a time. I was introduced to Diaryland by Somnambulist and as soon as I saw it I knew I had to do it too. It's a great way to get stuff off my chest. And this way I get to make new friends while I'm at it.

2. Do people you interact with day to day or family members know about your journal/blog? Why or why not?

I told one of my high school friends about it back in August or September, but I don't think she reads it. I also linked to my brother once, way back when, so if he ever checked his stats and noticed where the link came from he would know. But I don't think my friend or my brother ever read this, so I'm going to say no. I don't want people I interact with on a day to day basis to know about this because I want to talk about them freely.

3. Do you have a theme for your journal/blog?

Not particularly. The theme is me and my thoughts.

4. What direction would you like to have your journal/blog go in over the next year?

I would like this journal to start talking about how I have met the man of my dreams (the good dreams) and we have fallen in love and how I have a job which I love too.

5. Pimp five of your favorite journals/blogs.

Ok...let's see...

Somnambulist: Actually, no offense there buddy, but I'm not sure I would recommend reading this. He is offensive, mean, and paranoid. But he is still my favorite because, like it or not, he is my friend.

Aroha: We have a whole lot of differences and probably wouldn't really be friends if we met each other in real life, but at the same time, we are so totally the same. I like reading her just to know that someone out there feels the same way I do sometimes.

Roadiepig: I love the photography! And besides, how can a man who drives a snow plow in North Dakota not be interesting?

Gonzostar: This girl has achieved what so many of us would like to achieve. She has lost a lot of weight and is still losing it. Girl, you're awesome! And she is totally in love with a guy who sounds great. I like reading just to know that these things are possible.

Beagle47: He is a recent addition to my favorites list. He ran a bunch of really annoying ads recently. I happened to click on one and was pleasantly surprised. Look! A boy with a brain! I love the poetry.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day:
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->