Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


BUN:IQ>1

2003-02-27 - 6:53 p.m.

Woo! I'm in a much better mood today than I had been for the last few days. Actually I started feeling better yesterday afternoon. I did exactly what I said I was going to do. I went to rounds and told them I had a meeting at 4:30 so I left. I stopped by Mailboxes Etc. on my way to the game to mail a book to someone from Swappingtons.

The game was the first game of playoffs. We started out a little rocky, but we ended up winning. So we knocked the other team out of playoffs and next week we play for the title. Pretty exciting stuff.

This week is Poison Prevention Week, in case you were unaware. The highlight of my day today was going to an elementary school in the ghetto and teaching several classes of third graders all about poisons, how to prevent accidental poisoning, and what to do if a poisoning occurs. It was actually really fun. I'm a horrible teacher. I feel like such a doofus when I'm in front of the kids, but really they are very accepting. At least at that age. And really bright, too. I was surprised by how much they knew. Of course some of them were a little scary, too. For example, when asked how he could help prevent his little brother from being accidentally poisoned, one nine-year-old told me he would throw a brick at anyone who got near him. Um...ok...anyone else have any other ideas?

On Tuesday I was getting to know the new med students on my ID team. One of them asked me where I was from and I told him. He said, "Isn't that where one of the Grammy winners was from?" I shook my head and laughed, "No, I don't think so. If a Grammy winner came from my town I'm sure the news would make a big deal about it. I haven't heard anything." He frowned, "Hmm, I think it was your town," and then we changed the subject. Today I googled it and found out that one of the Grammy winners is indeed from my town! How cool is that?

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day:
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->