Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


It was early last December, as near as I remember...

2003-03-02 - 8:29 p.m.

Today was a day of absolutely no accomplishments. It was rather nice, really. Woke up, took a shower, went out to breakfast, came home, went out to lunch, came home, ate dinner, and here am! Phew, what a tough day!

Oh, do you remember the case of the missing fish? It happened a month ago, and today it was solved. At least partially. The fish's jerkied little corpse was discovered today. On my desk. Seriously. How exactly it got onto my desk is still a mystery. There is what at one time was intended to be a bar in my living room. My family has turned it into more of a terrarium. It's covered in potted plants, a cage containing a snake, and the aquarium which now contains only two goldfish. Under the bar is my desk. I can hear you wondering how I could spend a whole month with a dead fish on my desk and not notice. Well, if you saw my desk, you would more easily understand. It's buried in junk. I couldn't work there if I wanted to. Nope, I do all my work out of a recliner. I love laptops. Anyway, today I was making my mom a tape for her car from mp3 files. Connecting my computer to my stereo required me to first unbury my stereo. I took the pile of stuff off the stereo and was about to set it down in a small amazingly unoccupied (at least at first glance) area of my desk, when I spotted the remains of my ichthyous friend. He was an awfully long way from the aquarium. He must've been doing some serious flopping to travel so far. But I still have no idea how he got out. There is a lid on the aquarium.

Today I was skimming through the links that had brought people to my journal. One of them was quoted.diaryland.com/. I thought for a fleeting moment that I had actually been Quoted. But no, of course that wasn't the case. Quite a while ago I actually submitted a quote to Quoted. Apparently it was just posted yesterday. I quoted IWillSurive. I read her journal today and apparently being Quoted made her pretty happy. And making other people happy makes me happy, so it's all good.

Last week was not a good week for my electronic equipment. First of all, my PDA died. It's a Sony Clie I got as a graduation present in May. I went to turn it on last week and absolutely nothing happened. So I pressed the reset button in the back. Still no response. It's dead. Luckily, it came with a 2-year warranty, so I think I can get it replaced. Still, that sucks. I have a habit of referring to all PDA's as "Palms," like referring to all tissues as "Kleenex." After mine died, I ran into Fluffy. He asked me what was up and I answered a little plaintively, "My Palm died!" He gave me a very concerned look but before he could say anything else I continued, "How annoying!" Hearing that his eyebrows shot up and he sputtered a bit before managing, "What did you say?" I repeated, "My Palm died." He sighed a big sigh of relief, "I thought you said your mom died!"

The other bit of electronic equipment that is giving me fits is my laptop's battery. Obviously my laptop still works because I have it plugged in, but now I'm tethered to the wall. It's just not cool. I want to buy a new one, but my goodness, laptop batteries are expensive! I need an HP F2024A 11.1V Li-Ion battery. It seems to run for about $160. I found one for $93, but that still seems like a lot of money just to be able to wander with my computing fun. Does anyone out there know anywhere that I can buy a laptop battery for cheaper than $93?

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day:
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->