Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


...As I lay there in the gutter...

2003-03-06 - 9:08 a.m.

My volleyball team is now the grand champion of Carmichael Parks & Recs Wednesday Night, Court 1, 2003 Winter League! I wonder if I can put that on my resume...hee hee. We ended up playing two matches. The first match we played at six o'clock. It was best two out of three rally score games to 25. We ended up winning the first two games so we didn't have to go a third. Then we were off for an hour while the seven o'clock game played to decide who we would play at eight o'clock for the championship. The team that won did it in two games as well. The championship match was best three out of five rally score games to 25 with a 27 point cap. That 27 point cap is important because we lost the first game 26-27. Then we won the next two, lost the fourth, and won the fifth. Whew! It was a lot of fun. And it turns out we do get T-shirts after all. After the game we went out to some ghetto Round Table for pizza and beer. It was 9:30 when we got there and they closed at 10. They brought out our pizzas in to-go boxes and basically kicked us out. Made it home by 10:30 and showered and into bed by 11. My five o'clock alarm sure came early this morning.

Last night I dreamed that I was having a baby. I never actually had the baby, but I was in labor most of the night. Wasn't that pleasant? I actually dreamed that the doctors who were going to deliver my baby were Kevin and Dave from my volleyball team who are pediatricians in real life. It was late at night when I got to the hospital and they told me I had plenty of time before the baby would arrive so they were going to go home and get some sleep and come back in the morning. But as they were walking out the door some terrorists attacked the building. For some reason they wanted to get me. Kevin and Dave were kind enough to stick around and fight 'em off while I was in no condition to do much besides lay there and groan and occasionally move myself to a more defendable position. Having never actually been in labor I don't know what it feels like, but I can tell you last night's dream was less than fun.

It's common knowledge that while on the management rotation pharmacy residents become Cheesecake's dog on a leash which he can and will do with as he pleases. Particularly he will make them do all the dirty work he doesn't want anybody else to have to do. Because of this, when Fluffy walked into the residents' area this morning and found me with several foot-tall stacks of orders on the desk in front of me, he didn't know what I was doing, but he sure knew why I was doing it. He said, "I'm sorry." I gave him a look and said, "I don't know what you're talking about. I'm having fun," and with a flourish I moved a piece of paper from one stack to another and squealed, "Wheeeee!" He just about died laughing. Seriously, I was worried there for a moment. Generally I'm a very boring person, it's nice to be amusing from time to time.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day:
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->