Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Karma, neh?

2003-09-08 - 2:45 p.m.

I just got off the phone with a man who is a friend of a friend of my dad. This man runs a pharmacy temp agency in the Sacramento area. Today my dad called his friend who called her friend who called me. I told him what my current situation is and he told me what he does. He told me that if I were to only be available for one week, he would still hire me. Woah, I love having marketable skills! I have a feeling I'll be available for longer than a week, but it's great to know I'm not tied down here. I would definitely only be working in community pharmacies, not hospitals. Hopefully that won't be a problem for me. I have about four non-consecutive months of community work under my belt, all of it as an intern, and the most recent was 18 months ago. The pay is something else though. They pay almost twice as much as any hospital job I've been looking at. Of course they don't have benefits or anything like that, though, so that could explain the higher pay. Anyway, it looks like a very promising interim job. The man called me from home today, and since I have expressed interest, he has promised to call me from his office tomorrow to start taking care of the details. I may be no longer unemployed soon!

**********

I wrote the previous paragraph yesterday evening, but was unable to post it due to technical difficulties with my computer. The guy from this company has yet to call me. I suppose he has a few hours left before the work day is over, but I thought he would call earlier. I was hoping he would at least call before my parents get home from work. For some reason I really dislike discussing my career choices with my parents, even though this particular opportunity was brought to me by my father. I know I haven't done this yet so I don't actually know if I would enjoy it, but it seems like this job could be ideal in so many ways. One like it in an area where I'd like to live, that is. I was thinking this job would be perfect if I were married and had a family. First of all I'd have insurance through my husband, so that would be taken care of. I don't really know why, but I'm really nervous right now that I don't have health insurance. Anything could happen and I'd really be up a creek. But anyway, if I was married with kids then this job would be good because I would only have to work as much as I felt like working and as much as would fit into my schedule with the kids. It would give us extra income and would allow me to get out of the house and feel productive and at the same time be able to be there for the kids. I worry about that. When I get married and have kids, I don't want to have to put them in daycare. I'd love to be able to spend my days with them, at least until they get old enough to go to school. Or at least I'd like my husband to be able to spend time with them. He could work four tens and I could work the other three days (or the other way around) and there would always be someone home with the kids. Perhaps I think about this way too much for being so single.

I'm still reading Shogun by James Clavell. I'm 1100 pages in and one of the main characters just died. I'm in a shock. How can this happen? I thought everything was going to turn out wonderfully and now this. So sad. I only have about 100 pages left. This has been a really awesome book and I don't want it to end!

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Crazy Little Thing Called Love - Dwight Yoakum
One Year Ago Today: Do you really wanna jump? Do you wanna?

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->