Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Something wicked this way comes

2003-11-13 - 2:43 p.m.

So I went a bit nutty today. Yeah, I went to the library. Why? Because I only have piles and piles of books in nearly every room of this house waiting to be read and I need more? Because I'm only a couple of hundred pages into the book I'm reading now and I'm desperate for reading material? Because I'm in the middle of trying to write my own novel and I'm not floundering badly? Hmmm...at any rate, I checked out three books. And then, yes, I bought some more on Amazon. Well, I've decided I want to reread "Dune" but I don't own a copy. And the copy at the library was a giant hardback that looked like at had seen more than its fair share of grubby hands. So I bought it from one of Amazon's used book vendors. And then I bought the sequel to the book I'm reading now from another of Amazon's used book vendors because its out of print and there is only one copy available in the whole Sacramento library system and, well, I wanted it.

And congratulations to Flood for landing that job! In his entry today he made a quick request to find out if any of his readers wanted a roommate in the city where he will be working. Of course I'm nowhere near that city and I certainly am not in need of a roommate at the moment, but I had a brief imagining of Flood being my roommate anyway. It was all a one way street, though. He would teach me to cook, he would expose me to more culture, he would encourage me to open up, he would inspire me to exercise more--what would I do for him? I can't think of a darn thing. That's a little depressing.

Speaking of getting jobs, my authorization to test come in the mail today. I had a feeling it would come today, and then it did. In a way, I wish it hadn't. I kinda liked the fact that I could blame my unemployment on something besides myself. And now? It's all me. I could call today and sign up to take the tests tomorrow. But I'm not ready! Of course I should be ready, but I'm not. I have the law book to study so I can get that out of the way. But the NAPLEX review books I ordered haven't come yet. I'm thinking I'll make a goal to take the law exam before the end of next week and then to take the NAPLEX before the end of the week after Thanksgiving--that is if my books come before I leave for Houston. According to Amazon they haven't even been shipped yet. If they don't come before I leave, then I'll give myself an extra week.

Volleyball playoffs begin tonight. We must've ended up being seeded second in the league because if we had been seeded first we would've had a bye tonight. There are seven teams in the league so we should be playing the lowest seeded team tonight. If we win tonight then next week we will play the winner of third seed versus sixth seed. And if we win that then we go on to the championship round.

I also got another e-mail from Azuma last night. He told me the reason he's not coming home for Christmas is because he wanted to bring his girlfriend home with him and she can't go. He thought a shorter trip would be nice so he suggested Hong Kong, but apparently now she has backed out of that, too. I think they are having issues at the moment. He told me that she told him, "It would've been nice if I had married [my ex-boyfriend]." I can't believe she said that. I've been trying to imagine situations in which such a statement would be an ok thing to say to one's current boyfriend, but I can't come up with any. But I know I'm not getting the whole story and maybe there are cultural issues of which I'm not aware.

Oh, and check it out! The new Harry Potter trailer is out! Is it just me or is June 4th a long ways away?

NaNoWriMo Progress: 15,822/50,000

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: This One's for the Girls - Martina McBride
One Year Ago Today: Dancing broccoli

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->