Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


The days all fly away

2003-12-08 - 8:58 p.m.

Yesterday was the day of the marathon. My aunt's boyfriend started running in the morning before I even got out of bed. The marathon course crossed near my house at around mile seven or eight so we all went down to see my aunt's boyfriend run by. It was interesting. They had all the streets blocked off so people could run on them. There were lots of people down there cheering. And there was even a band. There were four guys playing a banjo, a trumpet, a trombone, and a tuba. It was cool. They had about 5200 people running in the marathon and it was amazing that people kept pouring by the whole time we were there. Here's a picture I took:

There were runners as far as I could see in either direction. And what amazed me most was how these people weren't dead. I mean, even when I was in really good shape I was dying after three miles or so. These people here have already run seven or eight miles and are planning on running eighteen or nineteen more. It's just nutty. I figure there are people who run marathons and there are people who think those people are nuts. It really made me want to run. It made me want to work out and build up to be able to run a marathon. And then reality hit me.

After we saw him run by, we went out to breakfast and did a little shopping and whatnot and then headed downtown to see him cross the finish line. Unfortunately, we got there a little late to see him finish. He finished it in 4:13. Again, it amazed me that the runners weren't dead there. I thought you were supposed to cross the finish line and then collapse in a worn out heap. But no, these runner were walking around and smiling and having a good ol' time.

Today I worked at the closed door pharmacy again. I'm sick though. I have a cold. For the past two days I've had a sore throat but last night my nose started to run. It ran all day today. I washed my hands often, but there wasn't much I could do about it--I had to blow my nose an average of once per scrip. My poor nose is all raw and red now. Luckily, I don't have to work tomorrow or the day after, so hopefully I'll be all better by the time Thursday rolls around and I'm working again.

Tomorrow morning I have my follow-up optometrist appointment. It's kinda gross to go all sick like this, but I really want to tell her how much these new contacts suck and find out if she can do anything about it.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Man to Man - Gary Allan
One Year Ago Today: Woo-hoo! It's today!

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->