Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Squinting to see

2003-12-09 - 8:59 p.m.

You should see my room right now. As you may or may not know, when I went off to college my mom took over my room and turned it into her office. She didn't know that I'd be back. When I moved back in, she didn't move out, so my room is now both my bedroom and her office. And it's not a big room. Let's just say that when I moved into the dorms the other kids were complaining about how small and cramped the rooms were while I had never had so much space in my life. At any rate, my mom got a new computer last weekend. I couldn't get rid of her old computer, though, until I had transferred all her files to the new computer. So now there are two computers set up in there. The new one basically takes up all the floor space. And today she needed a printer for something she was doing. Small problem, I had no more outlets. All the outlets in my room had power strips plugged into them and all of those were full. The solution? I plugged the printer in in the bathroom down the hall. I found a USB cable long enough to reach to the printer which is now sitting in the hall. It's nuttiness. Hopefully soon we'll get that old computer out of there and get the whole mess cleaned up.

This weekend when my aunt and her boyfriend were in town we had to drive downtown several times. With my grandfather and cousin in tow, we totalled seven--too many to fit into one car. Since my aunt isn't familiar with Sacramento, I volunteered to drive her car while my parents drove mine. And the point of this story is that at some point I was actually following my own car and saw that my passenger-side brake light had burned out. So today I fixed it. Yeah, that's me, the mechanic! My old car, Bob, had a brake light that used to burn out all the time for some reason so this is one repair job I'm pretty good at. I have to say, this car's brake light is much easier to get to than Bob's was.

Today I also saw my optometrist. Luckily, yesterday's constantly running nose has subsided to today's occasional trickle, so I was able to make it through the appointment without being too disgusting. And her verdict? Her response to my pain and suffering? She told me to stop being such a wimp. Good advice, that. But damn, I was wishing she would have some easier solution. So I guess I'll stick with it a little longer. I wore them for eight hours today. That's the most I've ever worn them and it really did suck. But it didn't suck as much today as it did the first time I wore them, so maybe I really will get used to it. She told me they fit well. When I told her the story of the way every time I blink the contact is lifted up and then drops down again she told me that was normal. In fact, she said that's good because that's what lets oxygen into my eyeball.

In other news, I bought tickets to go see the Sacramento Ballet's production of "The Nutcracker" this Friday. I also started reading a new book called The Five People You Meet in Heaven. One of the ladies my dad works with lent it to him and after reading it he passed it on to my mom who passed it on to me. It'll be a quick read and then I'll get back to reading Dune.

And finally, just wondering, how do you people on the east coast (and beyond) survive without Mother's cookies?

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Complicated - Carolyn Dawn Johnson
One Year Ago Today: Cooties are chronic

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->