Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


The camel's buried in a big straw stack

2003-12-15 - 7:04 p.m.

I wonder, considering how much they pay me, how much does my company charge a pharmacy for my services? I know it's enough for the owner to have a huge house and SUV and one full time employee. Sometimes it hardly seems worth it. Especially on nights like this when I'm sitting here doing nothing 'cause there's nothing to do. But then I wonder, if it's profitable for a pharmacy to pay my company to pay me to work here, as it obviously is since they keep doing it, how much must the pharmacy be making?

I haven't written an entry from work in ages. I just don't feel right doing it. But it's been slow all day today. Once I start writing I always feel annoyed to be interrupted, so I don't like to write at work unless I know I'm unlikely to be interrupted. Tonight is one of those nights.

I'm reading Dune now and I'm really enjoying it. I think I can see how it might have been boring for me when I read it nine years ago, but honestly I didn't think my attention span was ever that short, at least not when it came to reading. Writing is another matter as can be seen by looking at my NaNoWriMo results. What results? Exactly!

Anyway, I'm trying to decide what book to read next. I'm considering reading The Great Hunt which is the sequel to Eye of the World. Cathy is reading it now and I'm looking forward to her review. I'm also considering reading Otherland: River of Blue Fire, the sequel to Otherland: City of Golden Shadow. I checked it out from the library not too long ago. Or, if I don't finish Dune until after Christmas, I can read The Broken Wheel which is the sequel to Chung Kuo. I got that for my mom for Christmas, but I'd like to read it too. I should let her read it first though. Or should I just read one of the old Anne McCaffrey books I got from Half Price Books in Houston? Those are very tempting. Of course I'm only halfway through Dune, by the time I finish it I may have different ideas entirely. Oh decisions, decisions!

I resolved today to be nice at least the rest of the year. Mostly to my parents. I'm ashamed to say I'm not always nice to them. Especially, of course, my dad, who shocked the heck out of me last night by making his own lunch for today. Snide comments are always coming out of my mouth when I'm around him. But the thing that's especially hard about resolving to be nice is that I don't tell my dad about it which means that he hasn't resolved to be nice which means that his comments won't stop. And he's so used to me not being nice that he usually doesn't even notice when I am. He just assumes I'm not because I'm usually not. It's sad, really.

I'm excited about the new Lord of the Rings movie coming out. (Ooh, there's another idea for a book I could read next!) I'm definitely not going to see it opening night, though. I wonder if my brother is. That would be cool if we could go see it together when he comes. I ought to ask him. Maybe he'll wait to see it with me if I ask. Is it true that that movie is nearly four hours long?

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Nobody Knows - Kevin Sharp
One Year Ago Today: Seriously contemplating goofy things

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->