Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


It leaves an awfully big hole

2003-12-19 - 9:38 p.m.

I'm watching "It's a Wonderful Life" right now. What is it about this movie that makes it so repeatedly watchable? I don't know. I laugh at the same jokes every year. As George and Mary dance the Charleston nearer and nearer to edge of the pool I feel the excitement along with the rest of the crowd. When George is repeatedly knocked down and trapped in his homey town, I feel for him. Watching Mr. Potter sit around "spinning his little webs" makes me despise his despicability and root for the little guy. "I know what I'm going to do tomorrow, next year, and the year after that. I'm gonna shake the dust of this crummy little town off my feet and I'm going to see the world!" Me too, George Bailey, me too.

I've been trying to coordinate a gettogether of my college friends while everyone is in town for the holidays. Unfortunately, being the holidays, everyone's busy. Everyone has different times when they are free. I can't even manage to find a time when we can all do lunch. And I know it's bad, but I feel like I'm the only one willing to tweak my schedule a bit to make it work. I just need a little more flexibility on someone else's part to make this happen.

We finished wrapping all the presents today. Sometimes I think we may be going a little overboard on Christmas. There are presents everywhere. It's awesome. Honestly, I just like to see the presents under the tree. It would be all right with me if we just left them there and never unwrapped them.

My brother is coming tomorrow. I'm stoked, of course. I don't know if we're going to see "Return of the King" with him or not. I'm thinking probably not. Not only did he not wait to see it with me, but he's already seen it twice. He went and saw it tonight on an IMAX screen. So I guess I'll see it after he leaves.

I hate the fact that he's only going to be here for four days. Three and a half, really. He was here last year for Christmas so this year they're spending Christmas with his wife's family. He's flying out before the crack of dawn on Christmas Eve.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: The Gambler - Kenny Rogers
One Year Ago Today: I'm not singing

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->