Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


But I'm asking pretty please

2006-03-26 - 4:06 p.m.

'Tis the season for Easter candy! It's funny though, last year during Easter candy season I had my mouth surgery. I was in pain and uncomfortable and candy was just about the last thing I could eat. So now when I see Easter candy I'm vaguely disgusted by it. I think this is a good thing.

Speaking of good things, Lolo and I are definitely back in each other's good graces again. When I read the last entry I posted it seems so silly now. Of course I knew it was silly at the time, too, but it certainly didn't feel silly. Anyway, with the encouragement of good advice from some of my readers (thank you!) I told him exactly how I was feeling. He was, of course, completely unaware of how I had been feeling. He came over and reassured and comforted me and it has been good since.

Last weekend my grandfather, who has early (but progressing) Alzheimer's, got in his car, drove an hour away to the city where he lived up until about twenty years ago, and then got lost. The police in the city ended up calling my parents to come pick him up from the police station and my parents saw it as a good excuse to finally take away his car for his safety and the safety of everybody else on the street. Grampa was contrite and grateful for rescue at the time, but now he's being a horror to my parents for having taken away his car. He apparently calls them constantly to tell them how much he hates them and how he's always suspected that my dad just married my mom for the money and how he's going to call the police on them for stealing his car and on and on. I can only imagine how this must make my mom feel. It makes me feel very guilty for having abandoned my mom with him. She's the only one in the family who's anywhere near him anymore.

When I first heard about this recent development, it, and a few other things, put me into quite a funk. I had the next day off so I spent the day out hiking by myself. It felt so good just to get away. I hiked up to Lake Talapus and Lake Olallie which are up Snoqualmie Pass. Totally peaceful up there. The snow was still deep, I couldn't even drive all the way to the trailhead for the snow on the road, but I had on enough layers and waterproof stuff that I wasn't cold. I went home afterwards and curled up on the couch and read a book. I had absolutely no social contact whatsoever. It was so nice.

Except, of course, I did miss Lolo. Last week we had almost completely opposite schedules. I would see him once a day when I was finishing work to hand off the code pager, but that was it. So this weekend we made up for it. He had Friday off so he picked me up after work and I spent the night with him. Then we went to work (back on similar schedules now) and afterwards we went for a run together and then spent the night at my place. I so love sleeping with him. And yes, I mean sleeping. It's just about the most comfortable thing ever. We're spending tonight apart, but we're scheduled for tomorrow night together.

Tonight is volleyball finals! Yes, my team actually made it to the finals. We won about half our games, but the teams we beat tend to be the teams that are doing well. Last week was the semi-finals (to which Butiki and Lolo both came to watch and cheer) and we won, which advanced us to this week's finals. We play one game and if we win that then we play another for the championship and a T-shirt. Fun stuff!

One Good Thing: Finished work with time to spare before tonight's volleyball game!
Song of the Day: Nobody But Me - Blake Shelton
One Year Ago Today: Shallow, deep down

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->