Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Remember my name

2005-03-27 - 6:47 p.m.

Today has been a pretty interesting day, I'd have to say. For starters, happy Easter! I slept in today, which sort of surprised me because I really didn't think I needed to. I haven't been feeling particularly run down and I didn't stay up particularly late last night. But when my body wants to sleep in, I try to cooperate if I can. Usually I'm up bright and early whether I have to work or not. But anyway, I got up this morning and cleaned my bathroom. Is that exciting or what? Really, though, it needed it. I didn't give it as thorough of a cleaning before my parents came as I would've liked and then having my dad here for a week didn't help things any. At any rate, my bathroom sparkles now. It's lovely. Now if only the rest of my apartment looked as nice...

At around one o'clock I hopped in my car and drove up to Banana's house for an Easter brunch. Banana is a co-worker of mine who reminds me very much of DeenPo. Or at least she did when I first met her. They're both very smiley, social people. I felt like it was a bit of a pity invite for the single girl with no other holiday plans, but when I actually got there, it didn't really feel that way much at all. Banana had invited quite a few people from work, but I was the only one from work that showed up. The rest were all friends from her church. They were a very diverse and friendly group. They were also very religious. I'd never been in a group of people who shout out "Hallelujah!" and "Amen!" in the middle of grace. I felt a little awkward when they asked which church I attend and I had to tell them I don't. One of the people there, a large, jolly woman from Puerto Rico said that was good because Jesus likes non-religious people, after all, he surrounded himself with non-religious people, didn't he? I'd never heard of that one before. It was nice of her to say. At any rate, I had fun meeting these new people. And also Banana cooked lots and lots of good food. She's from Nigeria so she cooked several Nigerian dishes and they were very tastey. My mouth isn't quite fully functional yet so I couldn't taste things quite as well as I would've liked, but it was delicious anyway.

After dessert everyone pretty much left in one big gob. I stayed behind with one other girl and helped to clean up. Then we sat in her living room and talked a bit before I said I should go. I don't think I stayed too long. I hope I didn't.

I drove home and decided to go run around Green Lake. Yes, this makes three days in a row. Yesterday, though, I read something that I had written here about a year ago. I wrote, "Today I bought a pair of petite size 8 shorts and they fit. It's things like that that make getting out of bed early in the morning and going for a jog entirely worth while." I was feeling very inspired by that. I would really love to be able to fit into those shorts again. I sure can't right now. It's funny, though, after only three days of renewing my healthy vows (so eating all that food at brunch may not have been totally healthy, but I haven't eaten anything else all day so I think it's ok, and besides, how could I not eat it?) I already feel better. I guess part of it is just the idea that I'm doing something about it. I wish I could figure out how to just be normal. I mean, I feel like I'm either seriously dieting or seriously oinking. Why can't I find a medium? I guess I'll work on that 20 pounds from now.

So anyway, I went out and jogged around Green Lake. I parked in a different spot and ran clockwise instead of counter-clockwise just to mix things up a bit. The sun was just starting to peak out from behind the clouds so half of Seattle was circuiting the lake. It makes it a bit crowded, but not bad really and also it keeps things entertaining. The ever-changing human scenery.

On the way home from Green Lake I decided to stop by Kerry Park. Yes, the other half of Seattle was there or walking around Queen Anne. I love the way Seattleites are so active. I think it's awesome. And I made the mistake of driving around Queen Anne just a bit and I'm lusting over those houses again. Oh man, I so want to live there. But how? Maybe I should sit down and make up some sort of serious financial plan with house buying as a goal. But how would I ever manage it? I don't know. It seems so impossible.

I'll leave you with a few pictures of the view from Kerry Park this afternoon. You can look left towards the city or right towards Puget Sound.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Days Go By - Keith Urban
One Year Ago Today: No entry! :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->