Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Oh, you again.

2006-03-28 - 7:05 a.m.

As I was typing yesterday's entry, Lolo came out of the shower. He definitely saw the "add an entry" page that I was on because he said "Gold!" (reading the banner at the top advertising gold membership) and I hit the "done" button right there mid-sentence. Then we went and cooked dinner and he didn't ask any questions about it.

But as I was saying...so first there was the pharmacist who confronted me about Lolo. Well, it wasn't really a confrontation, she just brought him up, but that in itself was surprising enough. This girl really needs a nickname here. I'm going to call her Crystal. She's super sweet, works med-surg mostly, is married to a man who works in our hospital (although not in our department), and has a son who is a little over a year old (Crystal was on maternity leave when I first started working here, so that makes it easy for me to remember more or less how old her son is). Anyway, I was tired and a bit grouchy yesterday as I was in the break room getting ready to go home. Crystal asked if I had to work tomorrow (today) and I told her I didn't, thankfully. Then she said, "Do you and Lolo get many days off together? You should talk to Twinkie about it." I was really just taken completely off guard because I didn't know she knew about us. But I said, "Well, we have the same weekend off." She continued on, "Oh you guys are so cute together! He brought you coffee yesterday! I know you guys don't like to really talk about it, but I think it's so nice. When I see [my husband] at work now I just think 'oh, you again.' Anyway, have a nice day off tomorrow." And she was gone out the door. My mouth was just flopping open like a fish's as I struggled with trying to decide what to say and trying to get a word in. I ended up saying nothing. But I wish I had said something. I wanted to tell her that we don't mind talking about it, we just haven't come up with a good way to tell people without it seeming like an announcement. And I wanted to ask her how she found out and how long has she known. And how many other people know? I almost wish I had to work today just so I would see her again and be able to ask these things.

The other thing I didn't get to tell you yesterday is that Lolo received an e-mail from Twinkie. Twinkie is an interesting person. She's a pharmacist we work with who is also in charge of our scheduling. She's taller than I am and also much skinnier than I am and she's one of the few women in this world who I think could really kick my butt. One thing that we have in common is that we both happen to be dating men who work in our pharmacy department. Her man is one of the OR pharmacy technicians, who I'm going to call Robin. I really have trouble imagining these two together, but I hear through the grapevine (through Lolo actually) that they've been seeing each other since before Twinkie's divorce was final (happened a few months ago) and that they are now living together. Plus they very recently took a month off and went on a trip to Mexico together. (It's easier for them to get time off together since he's a tech and she's a pharmacist so they're not on the same schedule.) Anyway, those two are very much still a secret, I think. Moreso than Lolo and I. So yesterday Twinkie sent Lolo an e-mail. The e-mail said, "Allow me to be vague. My friend and I would like to know if you and
your friend are free for a drink after work on Wednesday?" Why does this make me feel dirty? It makes me feel like Lolo and I are doing something wrong and bad, which we're not. Neither Twinkie nor Robin are people who I would normally choose to spend time with outside of work, but I sort of figure it doesn't hurt to get in good with the scheduler. Plus I think they both like to go hiking and camping so perhaps if I get to know them outside of work I will like them better and it will lead to more fun stuff. Who knows?

So last night I spent the night at Lolo's place. It was totally and wonderfully comfortable. We went running after work yesterday. At first we were going pretty slowly. Lolo has a way of running slowly to start with and then finishing way faster than I could ever go. I tend to just run one speed consistently throughout. But yesterday I stayed with him at the beginning and then as I started feeling less headachey and less grouchy I took off after maybe 3/4 of our jog. I was pushing myself pretty much as hard as I could and I was amazed that Lolo was still able to catch up with me by the end. I think we need to run togeter more often. We're good for each other.

The plan? Today I should do laundry and dishes and perhaps go for a walk down to the post office and the library. The weather is crummy again today, as it always seems to be on my days off, but that's ok, I guess, it makes it easier to stay inside and do chores. Tomorrow I start back on tele. Lolo will be finishing up a stint on MS3. Then a drink with Twinkie and Robin. Then Lolo spends the night at my place. This weekend we're running a half-marathon. I don't think I'm going to set any time records.

One Good Thing: No work!
Song of the Day: Cowboy Take Me Away - Dixie Chicks
One Year Ago Today: Fried eggs, you're late

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->