Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


You should try it in heels!

2004-01-07 - 9:32 a.m.

Like a good little girl, I jogged again today. Plus I extended my loop a bit. I went 2.4 miles in 26:54 which averages out to 11:12 per mile. Not great by any stretch of the imagination, but that's an improvement on Monday's 1.8 miles averaging 11:23 per mile. And no, I didn't have any walking breaks in there.

And there was no sign of Molly the beagle either. My biggest entertainment was one little old lady out for a walk with her husband who smiled and asked "New Year's resolution?" as I panted by. I gasped, "That's right," knowing that any sentences longer than that would be beyond my abilities at the moment. She patted her husband's arm and wished me luck.

You know, they say that you're only supposed to exercise hard enough that you can still carry on a conversation while you're doing it. For some reason I don't think it's possible for me. As soon as I break into a jog I'm out of breath. I can continue for quite some time out of breath without getting any worse out of breath, but I certainly can't jog and carry on much of a conversation. Even when I was in good shape, long, long ago, I could never do it. Could it be a genetic thing? I know my dad is the same way. I remember recently when I went to cheer people on at mile 7 of the marathon by my house, there were people running by that were carrying on perfectly decent conversations. And the times I've jogged with Stretch and Spike in the past they've both been able to carry on perfectly decent conversations too. I wonder what the deal is. Is it just that I'm out of shape and have never been in decent shape in my life or does this rule somehow not apply to me? Or is it just a stupid rule that doesn't apply to anybody?

Anyway, the termite guy is supposed to come today. This time, at least, he called ahead of time. He wanted to come yesterday, but I told him I was working so he agreed to come today instead. Only problem is I forgot what time he told me he was coming. I didn't write it down because I can remember something like that, right? What a dumb idea that was! Of course I can't remember! When have I ever remembered anything? It doesn't really matter. I think he said 10:30. But he could've said 10. And come to think of it, he could've said 9:30. But it's already past 9:30 so that's unlikely. I do remember that it was late enough that I didn't think I would have to worry about still being in bed when he came. Ah well, whatever, I'll hold off on errands until after he comes.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Seasons of Love - Rent
One Year Ago Today: Weird, we use whipped cream.

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->