Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


You were the song all along

2004-01-08 - 2:00 p.m.

The whole time I was 24, I had trouble remembering how old I was. I always wanted to say 23 or 25. But today, that is no longer a problem. Today I am 25.

And today I've given myself three presents. Actually, one was yesterday, but that's close enough.

For starters, I shaved my legs. Yeah, well, it's winter and I don't have anybody who's looking, so I'm a little lax about keeping my legs shaved. They really weren't that bad, but I decided to pamper myself today anyway.

And today I ran 5k. Actually I went farther than 5k because I don't actually have a 5k loop in my neighborhood. I went embarrassingly slow, too, but I never actually slowed to a walk. So how far'd I go? I went 3.35 miles in 43:08 which averages to 12:53 per mile. Ok, so it sucks, but I'm 25 years old and I can run 5k. OK, so at the age of 25 Roger Bannister broke the four minute mile, but the point is that I'm doing more than sitting in my recliner. I hope when I'm 45 I can still run 5k. Hell, I'd love to be running them still at 75.

And the third thing? Well, ok, this one is the one I did yesterday. I decided to join Weight Watchers. Seriously, if it helps, it's worth it. And I think I might need all the help I can get. Honestly, I don't eat all that much on a day to day basis. My main problem is that what I do eat seems to be the worst choices. So I'm fixing that. Weight Watchers does stuff on a point system. Each food is assigned a certain amount of points based on its calories, fat, and fiber and I am allowed to eat so many points a day. So I can eat whatever I want, I just can't exceed my daily allotment of points. Well, today's going to be tough because part of my birthday tradition is lasagna for dinner and then of course there's cake. But I've actually been really good so far today and I only had 1 point for breakfast (which I admit didn't fill me up) and 2 points for lunch (which was actually more than enough). I get 22 points, so that leaves me 19 still, plus I earn points from exercising so I got 4 points for jogging today and if I walk this afternoon (which I most likely will) then I get another 2 points, so I've got 25 points for dinner and dessert and I think that ought to cover it.

And today I was good and mailed the Babe's birthday present to her, too.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: You Can't Take the Honky Tonk Out of the Girl - Brooks & Dunn
One Year Ago Today: Hail to the chief!

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->