Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Slow dance more

2004-01-09 - 2:02 p.m.

Today has been a day with some successes and some not-so-successes.

For starters, I did jog today. I've been setting my alarm for eight in the morning recently just so I'll be sure to get out of bed at a decent time. Even without the alarm, though, I'm usually up around eight. This morning, though, I let my alarm go off for fifteen minutes before I finally dragged myself out of bed. I think all that lolling around may have set the mood for the day. Or perhaps the mood was already set and the lolling was a result. Either way, I was really slow today. I didn't think it was possible to be slower today than I was yesterday, but at the end of my first mile I was already twenty seconds behind yesterday's time. And since I knew I would only get slower as the jog progressed, I decided to do my medium loop instead of my long 5k loop. About a mile and a half into this loop, there's a really steep hill I have to go up. It's not incredibly long, but it's really steep and by the time I got to the top of it I was completely pooped. In my head I could hear my inner slacker telling me I was going to start walking, but I negotiated a deal with it that we would go straight home as long as we didn't start walking. That did the trick, I immediately felt better. And then I reneged on the deal and jogged further. So I jogged a total of 2.6 miles in 31:56 averaging a 12:17 mile. Yup, sad.

It's Friday so my mom came home in time for lunch today. We decided that we would go to Wendy's for lunch. I haven't been to Wendy's in years, but my mom wanted to go there to get a baked potato so I agreed to go. Anyway, long story short, they didn't have any baked potatoes so I ended up ordering something else. I couldn't exactly remember the points-value of the other stuff on the menu. When I got home I looked it up and discovered that the thing I ate that I thought was worth 6 points was actually worth 9 points. Dammit. I had it figured out so that if I had 6 points for lunch I could still eat the planned dinner menu and come out at my goal. Now, no such luck.

After lunch we went to the supermarket to pick up a few things we were out of. While we were checking out and my mom was running the little debit card machine thing, the check out guy looked at me and said to my mom, "She talks too much." What the heck! I didn't know I was supposed to be gabby in the check out line. I wanted to smile sweetly and say, "Bite me."

Anyway, for my birthday I got 2377 pages worth of books plus three DVDs. Yeah, I made out like a bandit. I got The Shadow Rising (the 4th book in the "Wheel of Time" series) by Robert Jordan, New Spring (the prequel to the whole "Wheel of Time" series) also by Robert Jordan, Dragon's Kin by Anne and Todd McCaffrey (Todd is Anne's son. Apparently she's getting pretty old and she's handing the torch over to her son. This is their transition novel.), Sarah by Orson Scott Card, and Digital Fortress by Dan Brown. As for DVDs I got "Pirates of the Caribbean," "Sleepless in Seattle," and "Dave." So I should be busy for quite some time! Yeah, so much for studying.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Burn - Jo Dee Messina
One Year Ago Today: How you gonna have a dream come true?

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->