Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


The champion of mediocrity

2004-01-13 - 12:46 p.m.

I forgot to mention yesterday the results of my first weigh in. I lost 5.5 pounds on my first week of Weight Watchers. Apparently this isn't unusual. That's all the weight that was just begging to come off with a little sensible eating. From here on out it will probably be tougher.

This morning when I woke up I didn't feel at all like jogging. I got dressed in my jogging clothes and even went as far as stretching before giving up. I gave myself the excuse that I wasn't supposed to do any serious exercise for 24 hours after giving blood. I don't know, I just feel so out of it today. I have no energy.

I finally got around to applying for health insurance yesterday. I was somewhat annoyed to discover that it's not one of those immediate things. I turned in my application yesterday and I will find out in 5 to 7 working days whether or not I am accepted. And then my coverage doesn't begin until February 1st. I've been without health insurance for this long, hopefully another half month won't be too long. I also applied for dental insurance along with the health insurance. I was supposed to go have a filling done today. I remember writing about making the appointment for it months ago. I thought there was no way that by January I wouldn't have a job. I was sure that I wouldn't even be living in Sacramento anymore. Anyway, since I found out I may have dental insurance in February, I called and changed my appointment until February. Too bad, today would've been a perfect day for dental work. It already sucks, might as well get all the bad things over with at once.

The only thing I actually accomplished today was going to the grocery store. My grocery store recently installed some self-checkout stands. Due to my anti-social tendencies, I really like to use these. But man, they're a pain in the butt. How it works is that you scan your items and then put them in the bagging area. In the bagging area there's a scale. The computer knows how much everything you scan should weigh, so it can keep track of everything. Problems arise, though, if you bump the scale at all. You have to be very gentle and very quick. If you want to rearrange how things are in your bags, that's just too bad. If you mess with things or bump the scales or do any of the other myriad things that confuse the computer, you have to wait for a store employee to come over and reset it. So I've basically figured out that if I have only two bags worth of groceries or less, then I can manage it because I won't have to remove a bag to make space for more stuff. And then I have to plan how I'm going to pack the bags before I start scanning so I don't have to rearrange stuff later. Still, I haven't been able to get through the self-checkout stand without an employee resetting the computer at least once. Today the bag of baby carrots I bought was apparently the wrong weight because "it must've had water in it" causing the computer not to recognize it when I set it down.

When I got home I baked some muffins. I got the recipe from someone I met through Weight Watchers. I'm trying to be a very active Weight Watchers member, even though the socialness of it is against my nature, just so that I'm more likely to stick with it. Anyway, the muffins consisted of a can of pumpkin added to a box of cake mix (I used carrot cake mix because I happen to like carrot cake) plus 1/2 cup of water. Bake according to the directions on the cake mix box and it makes 24 muffins at 2 points each. I haven't tried them yet, but they look really good.

Speaking of that, I think I'd better pry myself out of this chair and go wash some dishes.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: I'm Gone - Cyndi Thomson
One Year Ago Today: The zipper

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->