Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


A darkness obscured

2004-02-11 - 8:26 p.m.

So I did a little entry earlier today which was something that I got from Rachel. If you'd like to check it out, just go back an entry.

So I was going to get here early and write something while I still had a few interesting things on my mind. That didn't really happen though. It's been three hours since I first started this entry. And here I told myself I'd go to bed early tonight.

My mom's birthday is on Friday. We've been trying to decide what to do this weekend to celebrate. She finally decided she wanted to go see Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks. I don't think I've ever been there. So the plan is to drive down there Saturday, get a hotel in a nearby city that night, and then explore the park on Sunday. It's about a five hour drive to the park from our house. I just booked a hotel for Saturday night. Let me tell you, it's not particularly easy finding a hotel with vancancies for Valentine's Day.

Since her birthday is Friday, I have to do some last minute preparations tomorrow. I'm planning on getting her a pie instead of a cake. My dad's birthday was Monday, so I'm trying to change things up a bit. So a trip to Marie Callender's is on the docket tomorrow. Plus I need to go to the store and buy some vanilla ice cream to go with it. I also found a recipe online for a pie I'd like to try to make someday. Not too soon, obviously, since we have plenty of desserts around here with birthdays and Valentine's Day and all that. But it's a fairly low calorie and low fat recipe so it would be something I could actually eat...if it comes out all right, that is. I've never made a pie before. But it doesn't look too tough. Especially if I buy a pie crust from the store.

Let's see, for the record, today I jogged 2.6 miles in 26:44 averaging 10:17 per mile. I was pushing myself the whole way and was very tired when I finished. I think tomorrow I'm going to go for a bike ride instead of jogging. My knee is a little sore right now, but really it wasn't hurting me earlier today.

Also today I finally returned my overdue library book along with the other book I just finished yesterday. While I was at the library I checked out two more books. I got another one by the author of the book I finished yesterday, Robert J. Sawyer, because I wanted to see if I really do like him or if that one book was just a fluke. I also checked out The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman. Everyone who reads that book and the rest of that trilogy raves about it, so I decided I need to read it too. I actually listened to the first book on tape in my car probably about a year ago now. I wanted to actually read it before I got into the next book in the series. But I don't know when I'll get to that. I'm thinking I should read one of the books my parents got me for my birthday next so they don't think I don't like what they got me.

I talked to Flik today. She's upset because her German boyfriend wants her to go to Germany with him this summer but her parents don't want her to go. What's up with parents being total sticks in the mud? I'd like to say that Flik is 25 years old (or she will be in a few weeks) so she should be able to do whatever she pleases, but that girl is still in school and still living off her parents' money, so if they don't want to send her there, that's really there prerogative, isn't it? When my dad didn't want me to go to Japan, he couldn't use money as an excuse because the trip came exclusively from my funds. Ah well, poor girl.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Hot Mama - Trace Adkins
One Year Ago Today: Except the chambers of the human heart

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->