Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Caring is never a mistake

2004-02-21 - 9:31 p.m.

Yes, I've noticed recently that my entries have been getting more and more boring, but really, what can I do? Exciting things aren't happening to me at the moment, and I don't seem to be seeking them out either.

So what did I do today? I set my alarm and got up before my parents to go jogging. Oh! Speaking of my alarm, I think I forgot to mention that my clock radio, which I broke last weekend by knocking it off my dresser, has been fixed! My mom fixed it. I don't know how she did it, when I asked her she just said she "banged it really hard." Why didn't I think of that?

Right. Jogging. I did the 2.6-mile loop. And I averaged less than 10 minutes per mile again, even though it wasn't as fast as Wednesday. And then when I got home, my dad was awake. What do you think the first thing he said to me was? "Good morning" would be a fine guess, but it would be wrong. No, he walks in and says, "How many miles did you go?" I said, "2.6." He said, "I did 3.4 yesterday." I didn't ask! I don't care! Ergh! He annoys me so much sometimes. Maybe it's my fault for not caring.

Did I mention I called my dad a jerk to his face the other day? I have never, ever done anything like that before. Thought not nice thoughts, sure, but never really voiced them. We were walking through a parking lot when some guy came up and asked us if we could spare some change. I don't remember the exact wording of the request or my dad's answer, but it was rude in the extreme and I was embarrassed to be associated with him. The guy followed us for a ways as if he would press the issue, but eventually thought better of it and desisted. Once we were out of his hearing Dad, with a smile on his face and a smug tone showing clearly how proud he was of what he had just done, said, "You do not ask me for money!" I looked him in the face and said, "Why? Because you're a jerk?" He was a bit set back by that but not much. Nothing I say is ever going to phase him, especially nothing I ever say out of anger and embarrassment.

After I got back from jogging, we went out to breakfast at the usual coffee shop and then put gas in the car and I mailed a birthday card to Flik. Yay, I actually remembered. I spent most of the rest of the day reading in front of the fireplace. We skipped lunch and went out to dinner at the Macaroni Grill. We went out to the newish one in Folsom to be different. Personally, I wasn't impressed, but my parents were. I ordered the pasta vegitali and the waiter actually crinkled up his nose and said, "Are you sure?" I assured him I was, but what's up with that? Of course after that I expected it to be gross, but it wasn't at all. It was really good. That restaurant still isn't very high on my list, though. It seems to me that their serving sizes aren't very big compared to other restaurants (even though I never eat the whole thing anyway), and I don't like the fact that a salad doesn't come with your meal. Shoot, when I go to the Olive Garden, the salad is the best part, especially since theirs is never-ending.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: When the Sun Goes Down - Kenny Chesney & Uncle Kracker
One Year Ago Today: No entry! :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->