Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Like it or lump it

2004-03-10 - 7:42 p.m.

OK, so this morning I was reading Roadie's diary and saw that he mentioned a "cool car." I went and checked it out. I want one! I still like the truck idea, but with gas costing me over $2 a gallon these days, it just seems dumb to buy a gas guzzler. The other non-truck that I've been looking at is the Subaru Impreza. The Pontiac Vibe gets better gas milage and it's cheaper. The Vibe also seems to be a bit bigger, especially in the rear. The Impreza has a better engine, though, hence the worse gas mileage. I just wish the all-wheel drive Vibe was available with a manual transmission. I would love to take these two cars out for a test drive, but I've never done anything like that and it scares me. Plus, I don't have a job so how can I buy a car? Besides, I have a car.

But anyway, who's in the mood for some pictures? Well, I am so that's what we're going to get. Last Thursday I planted some seeds so I can hopefully someday in the not too distant future have a garden. I planted asparagus, bok choy, daikon, onions, and zucchini. It's been six days and already the daikon is so big it was knocking on the roof of the little greenhouse thing I had them in. This is my daikon this morning:

The bok choy is getting pretty big too, but not as big as the daikon:

This morning the zucchini were just starting to sprout:

By this afternoon, though, I had two zucchini plants that were completely unfurled. There's no action from the onions or asparagus yet, though. I decided to move the daikon, bok choy, and the two biggest zucchini out of the greenhouse thing. So I dug through my trash and came up with a few containers to plant them in and now my garden looks like this:

I'll keep you posted on their progress.

My day was fairly uneventful. It was 81 degrees here again today--very lovely. I went to step aerobics twice today, the first time discovering the hard way that the built in bra in the new workout top I got simply won't do the job it was meant to do. I also made myself a great salad for dinner. There, that's enough of a recap of my day, I think.

I'm going to go read now. I'm reading Revelation Space. It's pretty funky. It took me a while to get into it, but I'm just starting to enjoy it now.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: You'll Think of Me - Keith Urban
One Year Ago Today: "...You can tell a man who boozes..."

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->