Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Without a popsicle stick

2004-06-24 - 10:38 p.m.

Today was, for the most part pretty uneventful. I did do a few things though. The first thing we did was to go see Shrek 2. Now there's a funny movie. Afterwards we drove over to Half Price Books. For some reason my need for books has toned itself down a bit so I didn't buy the place out. Could it be because I already own every book ever printed? Hmmm...heh heh. No, actually, I ended up buying four books and one of those was for my mom. I bought another short John Hersey book because I enjoyed A Bell for Adano so much plus a Maeve Binchy book and...another one that I'm too lazy to actually get up and see what the title is.

After the book store we stopped by the bubble tea place to get something to go with a lunch of leftovers. This time I got avocado chocolate. Really I could only taste chocolate. My dad got a passion fruit flavored one and hated it. That's so weird because my dad loves passion fruit and he doesn't hate anything remotely edible. I have no idea what the problem was. But anyway, guess who ended up finishing his off for him (oink, oink)?

I also watched "Kate & Leopold" on DVD today. I really love that movie. OK, I really love Leopold. I could definitely do without Kate.

And I played with my camera today. Yes, I'd almost forgotten about that. I have pictures to show you. Where shall I start? How about with the ones I was going to show you yesterday when Photobucket quit on me? OK...

I was going to show you night pictures taken with my new camera, but after shrinking them down enough to fit on to this page, they don't look so hot anymore. Oh well, just for kicks, I'll post one anyway. I took this picture using the manual mode on my camera. I really don't know very much about that sort of thing, but I think I'm going to have to learn soon. So this shot was taken over 30 seconds with the aperture as open as I could make it go. This is the street in front of my brother's home:

Today when I was out for a walk with my parents, I found a baby bird on the grass. We looked around and found its nest within reach so my dad picked the bird up and put it back in the nest with its two siblings. It seems like I've always been told that if you find a baby bird on the ground you shouldn't touch it because if you do the mommy bird won't take care of it anymore because you stink. My dad says that's BS and I guess he's right because after he put the bird back in the nest, the mommy bird was back feeding it before we had gone more than ten steps away. I used my camera to take a really cool movie of putting the bird in the nest, but I also took a couple of stills:

The last thing that happened today was that we picked my brother up from the airport. On Fridays he basically works from home so we probably won't do too much tomorrow. But it's fun having him around. I showed off my new camera to him and he approved of my choice, although it's not like he couldn't since I'd already spent the money on it. He went online and showed me that I could buy a 150gb USB external hard drive for something like $150 to store my pictures on. That's pretty cool. Great, something else to spend my money on!

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Live Like You Were Dying - Tim McGraw
One Year Ago Today: More to see than can ever be seen

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->