Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Preoccupied about mismatching their socks

2004-08-31 - 7:48 p.m.

Today I managed to get myself out of bed and go for a jog. The funny thing was, when I was lying in bed there was only one voice in my head and it was telling me to get up. But it still took me three minutes to get out of bed. I'm not sure exactly how far I jogged today. According to Yahoo Maps it's 7.7 miles, but I had to break it up into little sections and I'm thinking it probably rounded several of the sections up so it probably wasn't quite so far. I hope it was though. My plan is to ride my dad's bike tomorrow with his odometer attached so I can see exactly how far it was. I wore my dad's pedometer today, though, and it took me exactly 13,143 steps to complete the circuit. So if it was really 7.7 miles then I have about a 37-inch stride, which I doubt. I finished it in 1:20:36, but I can't really come to any conclusions about my pace until I know exactly how far I ran.

The Babe called me this morning too. Unfortunately, I was really pooped from the jog so I wasn't holding up my end of the conversation as much as I usually do. I tried though. She got a new dog. It's a chihuahua named Mimi. The only thing I know about chihuahuas I learned right here on Diaryland so I shared that with her, "I heard chihuahuas are hard to house train." Yeah, I'm so helpful. Also she has a job interview tomorrow! Actually, she doesn't know if it's an interview or not. She said she was invited to come for a visit. I wasn't able to give any insight on the issue other than to urge her to treat it like it is an interview, no matter what.

Today I got an e-mail from BookCrossing letting me know that a book I released into the wild two years ago (August 5, 2002) was found. Actually, I'm sure it was found much earlier than now, but this is the first time someone actually journaled it. And do you know what they wrote? They wrote, "Sold this book on ebay." I have to try hard not to be angry about that. I don't know, for some reason I feel like I donated this book to the world at large out of the goodness of my heart and it's awfully nervey for someone to turn around and sell it. But then of course my brain tells me that they're perfectly free to do whatever they want to do with it. I know, but still.

I've been looking into job openings in Washington. Now that I have my actual Washington license I'm still dragging my heels about applying for jobs. I have to admit, it scares the hell out of me. Not the working and not the moving, but the actual getting of a job. Once I apply, then I will actually have to talk to people and convince them I'm worthy of their time and money. Scary! Can't I just get a (perfect) job without going through the whole interview process? Please?

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Time After Time - Cyndi Lauper
One Year Ago Today: Opposing traffic

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->