Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


I don't guess I ever told you

2004-09-13 - 4:31 p.m.

Usually when I listen to the radio in my car I listen to the station that plays almost entirely modern country hits. But this station plays a lot of commercials and while their commercials are playing, I switch over and listen to the country station that plays country music from all through the last fifty or so years. When I turned on my car this morning, this latter station was tuned in. They were playing a song I don't believe I've ever heard on the radio, but this song was from the first CD I ever owned way back in 1992. Yes folks, don't know if I ever told you this, but the first CD I ever owned was Billy Ray Cyrus's "Some Gave All" which just happens to be the CD that has "Achy Breaky Heart" on it. No, I don't go around bragging about that fact. Anyway, the song that was playing this morning is called "Could've Been Me," and it's about a man who waited too long to make his move and ended up losing his girl to another guy who she's just married so his chance with her is completely destroyed. "But those dreams move on, if you wait too long," he sings. I felt like he was talking especially to me--and not about my love life.

This morning I jogged. I had an appointment to give blood at 10 and I didn't get up until a little after 8, so I ran a new loop especially designed to avoid the morning traffic around neighborhood elementary schools and to get me back home in time to shower and get ready for my appointment. I later measured this route with my car and found it to be 4.1 miles long and I did it in 42:59. I was able to get ready and make it to my appointment on time, but unfortunately, I wasn't cooled down yet when I got there. My pulse was 76 when the lady took it (my resting is usually below 60) and my temperature was 99.9. So there, I was deferred today because I had a temperature. I'm such a dumbass. I tried to explain, but of course they can't risk the possibility that I might be coming down with something, so they sent me home. I can try again tomorrow.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Could've Been Me - Billy Ray Cyrus
One Year Ago Today: What happened to his heart?

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->