Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


The reason we dream

2004-11-27 - 3:21 p.m.

I tried to sleep in this morning, but by six o'clock my brain was awake and more sleep just wasn't going to happen. And yes, I definitely have a cold. I got up this morning, took a shower, shaved my legs (why did I feel the need to be freshly shaven even though I have no intention of removing my jeans today?), and then hung out waiting for the time to come to head out to meet my guy.

I was there early (purposefully) so I went to a drug store and bought myself some drugs to drug myself up so I wouldn't be quite so gross. I stayed away from the sedatives and I think the drugs did a good job because I only had to blow my nose a few times. And honestly, I know this is dumb, but having a cold was kind of a good thing because it gave me an excuse to not touch him. Don't want to spread my germs, right? I never know how far I should go on the first date and I always feel some awkwardness because of that, so this just negated that whole issue and it was kinda nice.

Next I went to Eddie Bauer because I still had time and because I seriously have nothing to wear that's nice but doesn't look like I'm ready to go to work. I was disappointed because I found nothing there that I liked that was less than $60. I wandered around a bit more and then headed over to the appointed spot at the appointed time. He wasn't there. I kinda tried to walk by casually and I was casually waiting when I noticed him out of the corner of my eye.

So we went to Starbucks where he bought me coffee and we talked for quite a while. Then I got in his car (am I way too trusting, do you think?) and he drove me to a couple of parks with views because I expressed interest in them. Turns out that the first one he took me to is one that I actually stumbled across while I was here in Seattle interviewing. The second one he took me to was new to me, though, and it was very cool. I'll definitely be going back there.

Then he took me to a local burger joint for lunch. Turns out they only accept cash and he didn't bring any cash so I bought us lunch (I think he was genuinely embarrassed about that).

After lunch I told him that I thought my drugs were wearing off and it would be a good idea if he took me back to my car so I could go home.

So what do I think of him? I think he's a genuinely good guy. I think we have quite a bit in common. I think he is very easy to talk to. I think it's possible that something could happen here. I'm still not too enthusiastic, but he didn't do anything that annoyed me, which is a definite plus. On the downside, I think he looks a little greasy...I kept wanting to comb his hair and give him a shave. I guess he just sort of had the grunge look going on. He once had his hair blue for three months (although it's a perfectly normal color now). Also (dare I say this and expose my snobbery?) he's a tester. The guy plays video games for a living. Next month he's interviewing for a position as a programmer and I think that if he gets that job then I'd have a much easier time accepting him as a guy for me. I'm so horrible.

But on the bright side, he seemed to like me well enough. We agreed that we'd like to have dinner sometime, and he promised to call. So that's where things stand with him at the moment.

Tonight I'm supposed to go out with some girls from work and one of them told me she'd call me today to arrange with me when she would pick me up. She said she'd call from work and I was thinking she was off at 3:30, but since she hasn't called yet I'm going to hope that she's on 'til 4:30. Yesterday when I gave her my phone number I couldn't remember my cell phone number so I gave her my home phone number. I wish I'd given her my cell, though, 'cause then I could go downtown instead of sitting here waiting by the phone.

Yesterday at the National Geographic sale I bought myself a birdfeeder that has suction cups on it so it can stick to my window. This is great because I have nowhere to hang anything outside. At the drug store today I bought a bag full of birdseed and this afternoon I filled up the birdfeeder an stuck it to my window. The birdfeeder is actually clear plastic so I can see the birds through it. Anyway, the birds haven't discovered it yet.

OK, how about some pictures? It's been a while.


Puget Sound as seen from a park where the guy took me today.


Westlake Center about forty minutes prior to the tree lighting ceremony


My apartment!


One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Nothing 'Bout Love Makes Sense - LeeAnn Rimes
One Year Ago Today: No entry! :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->