Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


This is me kissing you

2004-12-04 - 11:29 a.m.

Today I slept in til 7 then got up and went for a jog. I wasn't sure if I'd be able to since I haven't done any exercise more strenuous than fast walking (although I've been doing plenty of that) since spraining my ankle nearly a month ago (Nov. 8). Actually, I don't think I sprained my ankle, I think I stretched some ligaments in my foot, but you get the point. I still can't bend my ankle a certain direction (the direction that would allow me to sit indian-style), jump (actually it's the landing that's the issue), or stand on my tip-toes on that foot. Needless to say I'm pretty far from being able to start playing volleyball again, but I thought I'd give jogging a try.

I drove up to Green Lake at about 8 o'clock. When I first started to jog it really hurt and I wasn't sure I could continue. But I discovered that if I kept my toes curled under then I could hobble along at a fairly decent clip. And pretty soon I got warmed up enough that my hobbling became less obvious and the pain more tolerable. So I made it all the way around the lake. According to the sign there it's 2.8 miles around the lake. I don't see how that can possibly be, though, because I finished it in 21:23 and I don't run that fast even when my feet don't hurt. It was lightly raining the whole time (of course, it's Seattle), so when I got back to my car I was fairly damp.

But I wasn't in the mood to go home yet so I tried to find the other end of Myrtle Edwards Park, the end I haven't walked to. But I didn't really know how to get there and I ended up at Golden Gardens Park instead. I walked around a bit, but didn't stay too long. I got back in the car and this time made it to Myrtle Edwards. I jogged the whole length of the park and back. About halfway through that, the pain in my foot went away even when I uncurled my toes.

I drove back home after that. When I got out of the car I could barely walk. My foot was stiff and my hip on that same side really hurt. I think that's from running on it funny to spare my foot. Ah well, whatever, it's all good.

Last night I went and studied with the guy again. We went to the same place as the night before. They have really good coffee there. And last night they also had a guy playing a guitar. It was really nice. I really enjoyed his music. If I had been by myself I might have considered buying one of the CDs he was selling. I think it's possible the guy is agreeing with me on my assessment of our relationship. We haven't actually discussed it, but it felt that way to me. It was good. For the first time we left each other last night without plans to meet each other again in the immediate future.

So for today my plan is to hop in the shower then head out to Target to do a little shopping. Then I'm thinking of taking my book down to a more local coffee shop and doing some reading there. Except I don't know which one I would choose. Plus I need to do some organizing of my apartment today.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Letters from Home - John Michael Montgomery
One Year Ago Today: You're sittin' on a stove!

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->