Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Compressed satisfaction

2005-01-29 - 11:51 p.m.

Last night I went out with the new boy again. I've decided to refer to him here as Magellan. I'm not super fond of the name, but for some reason no nickname really seems to fit him. Most of the time I think of a person and a word pops into my head and that's what I call them. But for some reason when I think of this new boy, the first word that pops into my head is "speed." No, I'm not referring to him as "speed," so Magellan it is. In reference to his amazing ability to get lost a mile from his home. A gentle jibe he will hopefully never know about.

At any rate, I had a really good time with him last night. This was a third time getting together and definitely our longest time. The last two times we got together he seemed really nervous. This time he wasn't. It was really nice. I feel like I got to know him a whole lot better. And I like him a lot. He has a few issues that bother me though. There's the really minor thing that doesn't really bother me but I can see being annoying at some future time and that's the fact that he's a vegetarian. Oh, there's the fact that he doesn't like to read, but that's also pretty minor. Another thing is that he told me about how he almost didn't graduate from high school because he failed so many classes. He says that was due to truancies though, and he seems like a pretty intelligent guy. And besides, what we do in high school doesn't necessarily reflect how we will be the rest of our lives, right?

Ok, on to more major things. The first one was that I noticed five piercings on his face. None of them actually had jewelry in them, but wow, that's a pretty major turn off for me. He had two piercings in each ear and a hole below his lower lip. If you don't actually use these things they close up, don't they? The fact that there is still an obvious excess of holes in his face means that he still uses them, doesn't it? I don't know, I've never had any bit of me pierced. And then it occurs to me that people who are into piercings are usually into tattoos also, right? I'm so not into tattoos. Do you think he has any? I haven't seen any, but I've only seen him wearing pants and long-sleeved shirts. I'm going to have to ask him about this stuff next time I see him.

The last major thing was that he told me about one of his past relationships. He said that before he moved to Seattle, so about two years ago, he had been going out with this one girl for about four years. They were planning on getting married and everything and then he decided that he just wasn't ready for that sort of thing yet and that ended the relationship. At first I was like, wow cool, that's just like me even though my relationship was only two years long. But then, of course, I started thinking about it and was thinking how horrible it would be if the same thing happened to us. What if I wasted four years of my life on this guy only to have him decide he's really not ready for the real deal? That would be so awful!

Of course we've only been out three times so it's a bit early to be thinking about that sort of thing, but I can't help it. And there are so many good things about him! I think I could totally fall for this guy. I guess we'll just have to wait and see.

Last night he was going to take me to a Vietnamese restaurant near his home. Yes, he owns his own home. I think that's very cool. Anyway, he never could find the restaurant, so instead he took me to his favorite Thai restaurant, which he made several wrong turns getting to. I think it was just because I was in the car distracting him, but it was still funny. Afterwards we went to a movie. I picked for us to go see Sideways. It was actually better than I expected. It was less predictable than I thought it would be. Very often throughout the movie I found myself thinking, "He's not really going to...oh my god, he did!" And there were parts that had me laughing so hard that tears were coming out of my eyes. But it was also really slow in parts. I can't really recommend it because I don't think everyone would like it. For example, I think my parents would hate it. But I think Duke would really enjoy it. Oh, and I loved the ending. I love books that end that way. I want to read this book now.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Hello Hello - Sopwith Camel
One Year Ago Today: More than moon

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->