Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Entwined and entangled

2005-10-31 - 18:24

Yesterday was definitely a success. I mean, things didn't go exactly as planned and they weren't always perfect (and in fact at least one very bad thing happened), but over all it was wonderful. It's amazing how one person can make me so happy. And really, when I think about, it's not that he makes me happy--I mean, he does, but I'm not all bouncing-off-the-walls giddy or anything--it's more that he makes me so...comfortable. When I'm with him I feel like there's nowhere else I'd rather be or anything else I'd rather be doing. It's just feels so natural. Ok, so it doesn't always feel perfectly natural. Occasionally I'm at a loss for words and sometimes he looks at me and I have absolutely no idea what the look is meaning, but mostly it's just right.

I picked him up yesterday morning and took him over to a coffee shop in Redmond for breakfast. It's an independent place that has a lot of interesting atmosphere. I was thinking we'd spend maybe 30 minutes on breakfast, but we spent closer to an hour and a half. Lolo definitely spends more time over meals than I do. I'm working hard on slowing down my eating when I'm with him. Anyway, afterwards I drove him over to the pumpkin patch that was nearby. I have to admit, I was disappointed in the pumpkin patch. It wasn't nearly as picturesque as I was hoping. And it was slim pickings in the pumpkin department, let me tell you! But then again, it was the day before Halloween so I guess I should've expected that. At any rate, here at the pumpkin patch is where the bad thing happened. We were out there looking at pumpkins together when I looked up and saw our boss with his wife and kids. I'm not sure what the appropriate action should've been, but I just took off walking the other direction. Should I have said hi? We never made eye contact, he never gave any indication that he had seen us, but how could he have not? We were like 20 feet away. The only way would be if he didn't recognize us in plain clothes and out of context. Anyway, we went and hid behind a veggie stand until the tractor came pulling the hay ride. We went for a hay ride and when we came back, he and his family were gone. Today at work he hasn't acknowledged me, but this isn't unusual. So hopefully nothing will come of that. Anyway, after the hay ride we went back and picked out pumpkins and took them back to my place.

All of this again took quite a bit longer than I had expected and we were planning on going to a play at 2, so we ended up skipping lunch. We just hung out in my apartment for a little bit. The play was interesting. It was called "Flight" and it was nominally about a little slave boy in the south who has run away and hidden himself up a tree because he just saw his mother get sold away from him. Five slaves come onto stage looking for him, find him up the tree (although we never see him, we just see the tree trunk), and spend the rest of the play trying to coax him down by telling stories and singing and dancing. It was better, actually, than I expected. And that's the last play of the season, so my season tickets are all used up now.

Afterwards we walked down to the Market to buy ingredients for the recipe I was planning on us making for dinner. But we were really hungry and we ended up having lunch there while we were at it. When we got back to my place we were completely stuffed so we didn't start on dinner. Instead, Lolo offered to help me with my moth problem. Have I mentioned my moth problem here before? I should've. It's disgusting. Moths everywhere in my apartment. And caterpillars, alternately. He said, "When you said you had a moth problem, I thought you meant you'd left the door open and one or two had flown in!" But no, that's sadly not the case. We're talking me spending half an hour twice a day hunting down all the bugs in my apartment and then them spontaneously regenerating a few hours later. So anyway, he helped me bug-hunt, and then, my hero, he found the source! It turns out one of the bags of birdseed I have sitting by my back door is full of them. Hopefully now that I've gotten rid of that, my moth problem will disappear too. I'm so glad!

Next we pulled out the pumpkins and set to work carving them. Lolo told me that he always hated carving pumpkins as a kid because it was too messy. He seems to have been a very fastidious kid--never liked to get dirty. He's definitely not so prissy anymore. I had fun carving my jack-o-lantern, and I think he enjoyed it too.

Then was dinner. We cooked together and it was actually pretty fun. I mean, it worked. I remember trying to cook with my ex and it just didn't work. I found myself annoyed with him the whole time. But this was good. We put the food in the oven to bake and then lit the candles and, as planned, made out by jack-o-lantern light until dinner was ready. That was just about the best thing ever, cuddled up on the couch, the lights turned way down low, flickering pumpkins, and rain falling outside. Dinner itself could've been better. I don't know exactly how it was supposed to turn out, but it didn't turn out as I had envisioned it. This is why I made him help me--now he can't blame it entirely on my lack of cooking skills!

After dinner it was back to the couch. Eventually he said, "When were you planning on taking me home?" and I told him, "Twenty minutes ago." He laughed and we didn't move. A little later he said, "I could stay here and take the bus home in the morning." And so we moved from the couch to the bed. I had to work tele today, a shift for which I really need to be awake to manage, so I made it clear before he agreed to stay that it would be a sleeping thing, not a sex thing (although I'm pretty sure he knew that without me telling him), and that's how it turned out to be. It was so comfortable just having him there entwined with me. I think we both slept very well. Before we drifted off he said to me, "This is my new favorite spot in the whole world."

I'm a happy girl.

One Good Thing: I woke up with Lolo in my bed
Song of the Day: Papa Can You Hear Me? - Yentl
One Year Ago Today: No entry! :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->