Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


If a clod be washed away by the sea

2005-05-20 - 10:31 p.m.

It's amazing what a difference a little sleep can make. At least that's what I like to think. The night before last I got 6 hours of sleep and yesterday was dreadful. Last night I got nearly 9 hours and today was a whole lot better.

I worked another tele shift today, but for the most part it was ok. It didn't drag as much as it did the day before. I still wasn't particularly enjoying it, but it wasn't so bad. There were grand rounds in the morning, which I went to. The topic was only mildly interesting but it came with free breakfast so who's complaining. I also killed a little time by going down to the triage area around lunch time to help Miko with the queue. And I managed to not fall down today. Go me.

When I came home from work it was beautiful. The sun was shining and although things were still a bit damp from all the recent rain, I decided to walk down to Myrtle Edwards park with my book and read for a while. Right, so before I got there it started pouring. Where did that come from? I was soaked before I got even halfway home.

And then it stopped raining. I walked by the Cinerama and there was a long line of people waiting to buy tickets for Star Wars. Including people who looked like they were camped out there. In the rain. Wearing Darth Vader costumes. I walked up to the ticket booth and saw that they were sold out until 11pm Sunday. The Cinerama, for those of you who don't know, has a giant screen nearly the size of IMAX and the theater has a lower level and a balcony level and it's just plain cool. It was original made in the 70's or 60's or some other decade that happened before I was born but then in the 90's it was closed and nearly torn down. Until some Microsoft richy bought it and fixed it up and now shows whatever geeky boy movie he wants to see.

So anyway, after seeing the interesting crowd at the Cinerama I decided to pop by the other theater on my way home to see if anything was going on there. I was surprised to find that the line was very short. So I went up to the window and asked when the next showing of Star Wars was that wasn't sold out. They guy told me 6:15. I looked at my watch. It was 6:13. So I bought a ticket and went inside--and that's how it came about that I went to see a movie by myself for the first time. Previews were already playing, but it's amazingly easy to find a single seat even in a crowded theater. So Star Wars was pretty good. Horrible acting, though.

The last thing I did today I'm a little embarrassed to admit. I've been getting a little self-conscious about my increasing amount of facial hair. Yeah. So I have Nordic ancestry and hair runs in the family. I've always been glad I'm blonde so that the hair doesn't show up so much. But recently it seems that the amount of hair has increased. There's only so much that tweezers can do. So the other day I went out and bought some wax. And today I waxed my lip. Goodbye mustache! I can't stop touching my lip, it's so smooth. It's just aching to be kissed.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Amazed - Diamond Rio
One Year Ago Today: No entry! :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->