Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


When we collide

2006-06-08 - 10:12 p.m.

Yesterday I had the day off so I decided to hike up Mailbox Peak. I've done this one once before. I went last year with a bunch of pharmacists from work. It was pretty much where I noticed Lolo, although things didn't start happening between us until a month or so later. At any rate, this trail is about two miles each direction, but it's more or less straight up and down. It's a real buttkicker. It took me about three hours to make it to the top (including stops for photo ops). So I decided to do this one because I wanted to go hiking but didn't want to go anywhere Lolo might want to go with me. Unfortunately, the weather didn't cooperate with me. The mountain top was wrapped in clouds. This is a picture I took of the top last year (that's Kitten, by the way):

And this is a picture I took from just about the same spot (although perhaps a little closer to the top since it took me longer to realize I was getting close) yesterday:

So the lack of view was a little disappointing, but the hike was still fun...if you consider having your butt kicked to be fun. I also packed up my big pack to help me get in shape for my upcoming backpacking trip. I didn't fill it up too much, but it still weighed bout 23 pounds according to my bathroom scale. My legs are a bit sore today!

Lolo and I are planning on going for a bike ride Saturday. I'm excited about it. It's the same bike ride we had planned to do on Memorial Day Weekend but didn't because of poor weather. The plan: start from my place near downtown, bike north across the Fremont Bridge to pick up the Burke-Gilman Trail which turns into the Sammamish River Trail in Bothell, continue on this until Marymoor Park in Redmond and then switch to the bike lane on West Sammamish Lake Parkway (because the East Sammamish Lake Trail is gravel and Lolo has a road bike), pick up the I-90 bike path at the south end of Lake Sammamish and follow it west until it peters out, then surface streets back to my place downtown. I don't know the exact mileage of this, but I think it's probably around 50 miles. So that's more or less the yellow line on this map:


One Good Thing: My book is starting to get interesting...
Song of the Day: How We Operate - Gomez
One Year Ago Today: No entry! :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->