Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Drive until I find the missing piece

2006-06-12 - 2:10 p.m.

We did it. On Saturday we made it around our fifty (actually fifty-two) mile loop. It took us forever though: a little over eight hours. I was thinking it would take five hours. I think I could probably do it much faster without Lolo along. Don't get me wrong, I love having him with me, but even so. I want to do it again without him on a day when he's busy. How do I do that, though, without making it seem like I'm rubbing it in? I don't want to show him up, I want to do it for myself.

There's a race every year here called the STP. Seattle to Portland. It's a bicycle event and actually it's more of a mass ride than a race. It's about 200 miles and most people do it in two days although some do it in one. A while back Lolo told me he'd like to do it and I wasn't too enthused about it, but thought that if he did it, I'd like to do it too. Now, after Saturday's ride, I'm much more enthusiastic about it while I think Lolo has completely thrown out the idea. It happens in July and obviously I'm not doing it this year because even if I was physically capable of riding 200 miles in two days, I'm going to be in California during the race. But maybe I could do it next year. I'm going to go to a little informational session tomorrow to find out more about it. Lolo has to work, too bad.

I mentioned earlier that I was thinking of taking the BCPS exam this year. The exam is in early October and from what I hear it's crazy difficult. Twinkie and Scooter were also planning on taking it this year. I've been thinking about it though and it seems like I'd have to do a lot more studying for it this summer than I'm really prepared to do. The advantages of taking (and passing) the exam are prestige, knowledge (presumably), and a $1/hr raise. All of these things would be nice. The extra $1/hr comes out to about $1250 per year after taxes. So I figured I'd essentially be paying $1250 to do what I want with my summer. Is it worth it? Lolo was telling me it's worth it. He tends to be that way, though, he talks me into splurging and spending more money than I would if he weren't around. I was still undecided until just a few minutes ago. I was talking to Twinkie and she told me she's decided not to take the exam this year after all. And Scooter has come to the same conclusion too. Somehow I feel like much less of a loser if I'm not the only one backing out.

Last night was the championship match for my volleyball league. We won! By a fairly wide margin, too. We didn't blow them out of the water, but it wasn't a close thing. We got nifty baby blue hoodies to commemorate our achievement. Next season starts next week. It's actually beach volleyball. I've never really played beach, only a game or two here and there--it's so much harder than indoor, though! It's the sand, I feel like I can't move. I can't jump, I can't run. I'm rooted. Plus it's 4-on-4. Also, what do I wear? I'm certainly not running around in a bikini out there (or anywhere). I'm much too chubby and pale for that sort of thing. I'm thinking I might find myself a pair of board shorts that fit nicely. Hard to do with thighs like mine, though. Gotta get back into the eating sensibly and exercising regularly thing. I told Lolo I'd go running after work today, so there's no backing out of that.

One Good Thing: I finally went out for a run
Song of the Day: A Little Too Late - Toby Keith
One Year Ago Today: Suffering is optional

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->