Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


As silent as the night for all you cry

2006-06-13 - 1:36 p.m.

I did actually go out and run yesterday. It was pathetically slow, but it was much better than nothing. I have to keep it up. I was thinking I should make some sort of rule like if I work, then I run. Period. I can't allow myself to let Lolo get in the way of that. It's hard because of course I'd rather be spending time with him than be out sweating and gasping for air miserably. But on the other hand, if I don't want to be a fat person, I need to not act like a fat person. Fat people don't exercise enough and they make poor nutritional decisions. I need to stop doing those things. Plenty of exercise and wise nutritional decisions here I come!

I have Thursday off and so does Lolo. It's an extreme rarity that he and I both have the same weekday off. Originally we were planning on going canoeing with Butiki on Lake Washington, but the weather forecast isn't looking so good: "few showers." Lolo is notorious (in my mind) for not wanting to go out if the weather isn't nice so most likely the canoeing thing is off. He also happens to work until midnight the night before. I'm thinking I might re-do the fifty-mile bike ride on Thursday morning, but this time without Lolo. If I get up at my usual time (5am) and get going by 6, I could probably make it around before he's ready to get together anyway. My other idea is that he and I could go hiking together, maybe up to Otter Falls, a low elevation hike to avoid snow, but once again there's that weather issue. I wouldn't have any issues doing it, but he probably will. We'll see.

I'm going to be back in California in mid-July. I've been trying to organize my college friends to all get together while I'm there. But will they do it? Of course not. I'm a bit irked, actually, because when I first proposed the idea of getting together on a particular Saturday Tigger told me that she couldn't do it because she wasn't planning on being in Northern California that weekend (she's still down in LA teaching while she's out of school for the summer). Then she said she had rearranged her schedule such that she would be able to make it up there for that weekend. Now she says she can't do it on that Saturday because she has plans with her family. She wants to do it that Friday evening instead. Of course everybody else has already made plans to get together on Saturday. Flik and the Babe might be able to rearrange their schedules, but Doodle can't. Not to mention the fact that Friday is much less convenient for me. I'm annoyed. I'm only going to be there for that one weekend and I gave them several months warning. I had dibs! But no.

I'm planning on heading down to REI tonight for a presentation on the STP. While I'm there, though, I have a bit of a shopping list. For some reason I got it into my head that I want a compass and a thermometer for when I'm out hiking. Why? I don't know, really. A compass is one of the ten essentials, but I've never felt in need of one. Mostly just for fun, I guess. I'm trying to decide how fancy of a compass I'd like to get. I don't actually know anything about compasses, the basic keychain kind would probably cover all of my needs just fine. But they have compasses that run all the way up to over $100. There's a $50 one that I was considering. I think, though, that I'm going to just go for one that's more of a keychain. For $12 I can get a keychain type that has both a compass and a digital thermometer. But I'm going to go to a Backpacking 101 course soon, and I think I'll hold off making my purchase until after that, just in case they convince me that I really do need the $50 kind. Maybe I could get all into it and take an orienteering course too. That might be interesting.

Also on my list is a watch. I'm thinking of getting this one (only in blue, I'm still not a pink kind of girl and the blue one has a cooler watch band, I think). I don't have a "play" watch at the moment. The only watch I have is the watch I wear to work, a nice little silver-colored thing my parents gave me as a graduation gift from pharmacy school. It's not really ideal for hiking/biking. I'm afraid of breaking it and it turns my wrist black when I sweat. I'm also thinking of getting a rearview mirror that attaches to my bike helmet. When I first saw them I thought they were dorky, but now the idea is growing on me. Wouldn't it be nice to know that Lolo is still behind me and hasn't stopped by the side of the road somewhere? And the last thing on my list is a pair of board shorts for playing ball on the beach. If only I can find a pair that I wouldn't be embarrassed to go out in public in. If I can't find a pair there, I wonder where else I could look.

Lolo and I are planning on going to England in late September. We've been working a bit recently on making the plans just a tad more specific than that, at least narrowing things down to which city we'll be in so that we can book hotels. We're starting to get pretty excited about the trip even though it's still three months away. The plan so far is to fly to London and spend the first night there. Then down to Penzance where, among other things, we'll be seeing a play at the Minack Theater. Two nights in Penzance then two nights in Salisbury where we'll see Stonehenge and the Salisbury Cathedral and whatnot. Then back to London where we'll spend the rest of our stay including a day trip down to Beachy Head to see some white cliffs. White cliffs and the play were my two requests, everything else we're doing is pretty much what Lolo wants to do, although he hasn't mentioned any itinerary options that I haven't also been interested in.

One Good Thing: I'm excited about biking!
Song of the Day: Voca Me - Libera
One Year Ago Today: No entry! :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->