Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Leave here just the same

2006-08-23 - 2:34 p.m.

Last night I played in a volleyball game. I'm playing in a co-ed 4's beach volleyball league this summer. Before this I'd never really played beach volleyball. It's an A league and really I'm not very good at it, but I'm not too terrible. Two of the players on my team are people I played indoor with for the last two seasons. The third guy happens to be the other girl's boyfriend. I don't like him. Maybe he's on alright guy off the court, but he really gets to me while we're playing. He's always saying that we're out there to have fun, but then he demonstrates that clearly we're not--he's out there to win. The biggest impedement to this, he seems to think, is me. He steals the ball away from me and never sets me. True, I'm the worst player on the court, but it's still not right. How am I supposed to get any better if he doesn't let me play? I payed my money and I rearrange my schedule every week so I can make it out there, he doesn't have any more right to play than I do. Plus, his strategy isn't working. Out of 11 teams in the league, we were in 9th place. That was before last night when we lost all three games. Maybe if keeping the ball away from me made them a winning team, I would think differently, but the way things are really sucks. The last game is next week. Good riddance.

As far as Lolo is concerned, things are a bit better. The only thing that really wasn't right was me. In an e-mail he sent me yesterday he said, "I'm actually getting quite frustrated by my living arrangements currently." But we didn't have any sort of conversation about moving in together. I almost brought it up last night, but then I fell asleep instead. He worked until midnight and then came over and took me to bed. This morning we slept in and then we got up and he went to work. All because he traded shifts with me so I could go to that volleyball game. After the game last night I cleaned for four hours straight. You wouldn't believe the amount of hair and dirt I sucked up in my vacuum cleaner. Things are looking much nicer around here. Tonight I work until midnight. He's going to pick me up after work and take me to his place. We both have tomorrow off so we'll spend the day making final arrangements for England and in the afternoon I'm meeting another one of his college friends.

While I was working graveyard shifts last month Lolo took me to meet one of his friends I hadn't met before. It was bad, I was so sleepy. That week of graveyards was miserable all around, really. Right after I wrote my last entry here from July I developed another UTI. It wasn't the worst one I've had, but it's the fifth one I've had since January, so I decided to do something about it (as opposed to just letting it run its course as I had been doing previously). So I started a three-day course of Bactrim DS. That made me so sick. I was nauseated for three days. With the combination of the UTI and the drugs, I was one sick puppy. On the plus side, I lost quite a bit of weight that I haven't gained back yet. It's not the way I'd like to lose the weight, but hey, if I have to be sick, might as well lose some weight while I'm at it. Anyway, now I'm on UTI prophylaxis, pop one Bactrim DS after sex, and I haven't had a UTI since...not that it's been very long. The Bactrim doesn't seem to make me sick when I take them one at a time.

One Good Thing: Waking up with Lolo
Song of the Day: Want To - Sugarland
One Year Ago Today: No entry! :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->