Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Giving destiny its power

2005-08-31 - 1:00 p.m.

This morning as I was driving over to Green Lake for a jog, I heard the song "She Didn't Have Time" by Terri Clark on the radio. I'd heard the end of that song before and it didn't make sense by itself, but this time I heard the whole thing. And the stupid thing is that it made me cry. Am I crazy? It's not a sad song.

Anyway, yesterday the next 2-week block of my work schedule was posted. I found out that I did indeed get the day of the half-marathon at the end of September off, so this morning I officially signed up for it. So there's no backing out of that one now. My parents have also informed me that they're going to come visit me during the week before Thanksgiving despite the fact that I will have to work. This is good, I like them visiting. The only problem with that is that the Seattle marathon is right after Thanksgiving so I won't be able to take a week off from running just then if I end up actually doing the marathon. Way too early to start worrying about that though.

Also on the new schedule I found that I'm scheduled to work a week in the OIC (outpatient infusion clinic). They mostly do chemo there. What do I know about chemo? Not much! I've never been interested in chemo and I don't really want to get into it. Besides just being really complicated, I have no desire to spend my days handling toxic chemicals, you know? Especially if I ever have kids, I'd hate to bring any of that crap home to them or expose them to it at all when I'm pregnant! Yeah, crazy to think of that so prematurely, but still. The point is, I'm probably the least qualified pharmacist in the hospital to work there. I e-mailed the scheduler and asked her, "Is this for real?" She assured me it was. This happens in about a month, so I guess I've got that long to learn a thing or two about chemo. On the good side, though, I'm working there with Kitten all week. That could be fun. On the bad side, I'm working there with Kitten all week. She's new there and probably not totally proficient yet so teaming the two of us up there sounds like disaster to me! Ah well...we'll handle it...

Tonight I'm working until midnight. I stayed up late last night in preparation, but was still unable to sleep in much this morning. I was wide awake at quarter to seven so I got out of bed. I hope I make it through tonight ok.

Well, I'm off to run some errands downtown. See ya!

One Good Thing: I went grocery shopping and didn't buy anything not on my list :-)
Song of the Day: She Didn't Have Time - Terri Clark
One Year Ago Today: Preoccupied about mismatching their socks

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->