Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


We have to or we'll end up in the bath

2005-09-07 - 9:46 a.m.

For some reason I'm feeling pretty depressed this morning. I'm feeling fat and ugly. Why does that happen? It's not like I look any different than I did two days ago and I felt just fine then. Ugh, I don't know.

I had yesterday off from work and it was sunny so I decided to go for another hike. By myself this time. I ended up hiking up Mt. Pugh. It was a truly amazing hike--one of the most beautiful I've ever done. Crazy steep, though. It was 5.5 miles up to the top with an elevation gain of 5400 feet. And parts of the trail had some amazing drop offs, sometimes on both sides at the same time. This is part of the reason why I chose to do this one without Lolo--heights make him a bit nervous and I didn't want to put him in a potentially embarrassing situation. Anyway, it took me 5 hours to get to the top, but the sky was clear and from the top I could see out in every direction. I could see Mt. Rainier to the south, the Olympics to the west, Mt. Baker to the north, and Glacier Peak to the east. I could see all sorts of other mountains too, but my Washington geography still has a lot of room for improvement and I couldn't identify any of the others. One of my favorites was one that I dubbed "Mt. Pointy:"

When I got home I had received an e-mail from Duke, who I haven't seen in ages, saying he'd like to have dinner with me that night (I'd asked him if he'd like to a few days ago but hadn't heard back from him). So I called him and we agreed to meet up at 10 (he's been working late every night because he's in "crunch mode" for his current project). So I held off on dinner until then and I was starving when we got together only to have him tell me that he had already eaten. What the heck? I was annoyed, but I sure wasn't going to not eat, so I ate while he had a few drinks. He got a new tattoo last weekend. I think it's perfectly horrid, but he loves it so I oohed and aahed over it and told him I thought it was really cool and asked for lots of details about the whole process. And actually, we were a lot more comfortable together this time than we've been for the last few times we've been together, which was good. Did I tell you he has a girlfriend now? Yeah, it's kind of funny because I actually knew this girl before he did and I hardly know anybody here. She used to be an intern in my pharmacy and I even went salsa dancing with her on my birthday this year (although I referred to her as a technician in the entry I linked).

Anyway, Dierks Bentley's newest CD is on hold for me down at the library right now so I think I'll bandage up my foot and walk down there to pick it up and hit the post office while I'm at it. And then later today will be my first time working with Lolo since going out with him. Did I mention that we're going to see a play together on Sunday?

One Good Thing: The sun is shining
Song of the Day: Conventioneers - Barenaked Ladies
One Year Ago Today: Elixir of nightmare

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->