Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Fills up every corner like she's born in black and white

2006-09-12 - 10:14 a.m.

I got up this morning around six to go for a run. I drove out to the lake and started running around, but it was no good. I gave blood yesterday so I'm hoping that was the reason I was so tired. I did a half mile at goal but then couldn't hit it anymore. So I decided to just go for distance and not worry at all about speed. I figure something is better than nothing. I went 3.5 miles. Not too bad, I guess.

There are little electronic gizmos on all the doors to secure pharmacy areas in my hospital. In order to get through them, we have to swipe our badge and then enter our secret code followed by the # key. Yesterday I was working in the OR pharmacy. After my technician had gone home for the day I left the pharmacy to go pick up a stack of pre-op orders from the admissions office down on the 5th floor. When I got back, I discovered that the # key had fallen off the electronic gizmo. I couldn't get in. I was standing there trying to decide what to do next, when I saw a little #-key-shaped piece of metal on the floor. I was able to hold it in place just-so and eventually get in. I called engineering to come fix my door. They tried to paste the key back on, but had no luck and were going to have to order a new electonic gizmo for the door, but of course that was going to take a while. Anyway, it kind of turned into a big fiasco about how I could work since I need to go in and out and how I could even go home if nobody would be able to get in the next morning. Embarrassingly, somebody finally brought the situation to the attention of our pharmacy department computer wiz and he told us that actually the * key performs the same function as the # key. It wasn't a big deal at all. It's just like me to be stupid and cause a big commotion over nothing.

One Good Thing: Went for a run this morning
Song of the Day: Suddenly I See - KT Tunstall
One Year Ago Today: No entry! :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->