Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


How to shoot a combo

2006-09-14 - 10:15 p.m.

This morning I didn't run. When my alarm went off at six I heard (or thought I heard) rain outside so used that as an excuse to sleep in instead. I had a pleasantly lazy morning before work mostly just reading. I'm hoping to finish the book I'm reading now before London because it's huge and I don't want to lug it along, plus it's due at the library before I get back, but I still have over 500 pages to go. Maybe I can convince Lolo to give us a reading day this weekend... Sunday maybe? Football and reading? We also may go for one last hike this weekend. I don't know, we'll see. A lot depends on the weather which has definitely taken an Autumn turn.

Work wasn't bad today. Not nearly as busy as yesterday. Frosty said he counted the orders I did yesterday and thinks that's the most he's ever seen. Wow, it's nice that I didn't know how busy I really was. When I'm working the EOR shift I'm in a little room all by myself the whole time. I have zero backup. So I'm entering and verifying orders, filling all the orders, delivering all the medications, and answering all the phone calls all by myself. It's amazing how it always seems to work out that phone calls never come one at a time. Nothing for quite a while and then suddenly: ring ring--they're ready for so-and-so's pre-op antibiotics in induction on 5--ring ring--we need 300mg of phenytoin in room 9 NOW--ring ring--we need a milrinone drip in room 7 STAT! I'm getting better at not freaking out when that sort of thing happens. And an anesthesiologist thanked me by name when I delivered an amiodarone drip to him today. That made me really happy--he knew my name! Too bad I have no idea what his name is.

Also today Lolo came by to visit me again after his shift. He didn't stay long, just enough to say hi. I asked him a few questions regarding Hypaque and tumescent solution and he told me he'd be at my place at 8 Friday night. Then he left. But I still loved it. Apparently all I really need is that little reminder that he's still thinking of me. I still miss him, but now it's more in the looking forward to being with him again sort of way instead of the achey and sad sort of way. This way is much, much better.

After work today I pretty much drove straight to my volleyball game. This season we're playing at a community center in North Seattle. It took me maybe fifteen or twenty minutes to get there. I got off work at 7:30 and the game was at 8. Just enough time to stretch and warm up before the game. I had so much more fun tonight than I've been having at the beach volleyball games. I'm still not a fantastic player by any means, but I'm so much less non-fantastic that it's much more enjoyable for me. Plus everyone on my team is nice and friendly. It was good to see my indoor team again. I'm going to miss the next two games because of England and I don't know what the schedule is like after that so I don't know when I'm going to be able to play again, but it sure was fun this week.

One Good Thing: A new season of indoor volleyball
Song of the Day: Before He Cheats - Carrie Underwood
One Year Ago Today: No entry! :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->