Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Riding out this twist of fate

2005-09-29 - 4:17 p.m.

Before I get started on what's really on my mind, let me go back and tell you about the race that I ran on Sunday. It was a half marathon (13.1 miles) and my goal was to finish it in under 2 hours. Guess what, guys--I did it! I was pretty happy with myself. My time ended up being 1:56:42. It was a very small race with only a little over 100 people in it (as opposed to the 7000 or so that ran in the Vancouver half with me back in May), so I sort of missed out on that feeling of running with the herd. Most of the time I was pretty much running by myself, just like one of my usual runs. The biggest difference was that I was pushing myself harder. And I could definitely tell. At around mile 8 or 9 I had an incident just after one of the aid stations where they were handing out cups of water and sports drinks. Let's just say that the sports drink did not stay down. And then by mile 11 I was definitely ready to be done. I was very tired. But I kept pushing with what I had left. The voice in my head kept yelling, "What are you saving your energy for--move it, girl!" Anyway, I promised myself that if I accomplished this goal of less than 2 hours, then I would buy myself new running shoes. My pinky toe is starting to peak through a hole in one of my shoes. So yay, new shoes if I ever get a chance to go shoe shopping!

So back on my favorite subject these days: Lolo. (You know, I'm regretting giving him this nickname now. It seemed perfectly appropriate when I gave it to him back in March, but now...) I dropped him off at his place Sunday afternoon after the race. I was already missing him by Sunday evening. Monday I worked tele and as I said in my last entry, I saw him during lunch, but not alone. Tuesday I didn't see him at all. Wednesday, yesterday, we had plans for him to come over to my place after he got off of work at 9:30 and we were going to see a movie. Finally 9:30 arrived and so did he. It seems as though he may miss me as much as I miss him. At one point when we were coming up for air he said, "You'd think we hadn't seen each other in a year." We made it down to the movie on time (we saw Corpse Bride--his choice) and held onto each other the whole time (discreetly, we're not obnoxious in public). After the movie he walked me back to my building. When we got to my gate he asked me, "Would you like me to walk you to your door?" I don't know, there's still some hesitation in me, I'm still wanting to do the "proper" thing. I was tempted to tell him good night there, but instead I just said, "Yes."

I opened my door and we both went inside without hesitation. We ended up fairly quickly on the couch. It was already pretty late, and I kept thinking about how I was going to get him back to his car. Would I let him walk alone downtown in the wee hours? Would I walk with him to his car and have him drive me back? Would I drive him to his car? But somehow the issue never came up. I was doing a pretty good job of staying awake, but sometimes with me it's like somebody turns a switch in me and suddenly I can't keep my eyes open any longer. We ended up dozing on the couch wrapped in each other's arms, shifting occasionally to relieve arms and legs that had fallen asleep. Finally he said, "I'm afraid you're going to fall off the couch, can I take you to your bed?" Heh heh heh... no, actually, I was too sleepy at this point to really think that anything might happen there. I went and took out my contacts and led him to my bed. We were both still fully clothed (erm, minus my bra and his belt) and we just lay on top of the covers holding on to each other. We spent the night this way. But you know me, I was awake at 5 and suddenly very aware that there was a hot guy in my bed with me. (Oh, woops, yeah, this is when the belt came off...) He didn't seem to mind my amourousness...in fact I'd say he was quite encouraging. My alarm went off at 6, but we ignored it until it turned itself off again at 7. Since I had to be at work at 8 I finally forced myself to get up and get ready. He left at 7:30 (he had left his stuff in the break room at work the night before and wanted to go back and get it before the people from the 8 o'clock shift started showing up).

So wow, yeah, he spent the night. We're not even a month out from our first timid hand holding session. I worry a bit that we're going too fast in the physical arena. I'm not usually like that. But then I've only been with one guy, so how can I say what I'm usually like? I worry that he's going to get bored with me. But things are going well in the non-physical arena too, I'd say, so I'm not too worried about it. I love the way he can just be. I like this guy so much.

One Good Thing: I woke up with Lolo
Song of the Day: Brass Bed - Josh Gracin
One Year Ago Today: Duck and cover

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->