Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


In one moment I am light

2005-10-06 - 5:11 p.m.

I worked tele today and it was actually a pretty good day. Everything went well. But by the end of the day I was starting to feel like I was coming down with something. I still feel that way. My head hurts, my nose is a little runny and my throat is scratchy. Ugh. I don't want to be sick.

Things with Lolo continue to go well. Too well, really. Better than I ever hoped they would when I first wrote here that "I think I'm developing a crush on Lolo." I thought that was just another silly crush of mine.

My brother and sister-in-law came to visit me last weekend. They flew in very late Friday night. I had wanted to take them hiking, but the weather just wouldn't cooperate. We went down to the Market Saturday morning for breakfast and then drove over to Issaquah for their Salmon Days festival. We stayed there until it started pouring down rain and then we came back to my place and went and saw Serenity, which was actually pretty good for a movie based on a TV show. I took them out to dinner at a little Italian restaurant in Ballard called Sopranos and then dessert at the gelato place in Fremont by the Lenin statue (the ginger gelato was fabulous). Unfortunately, I was a little sad all day because I was missing Lolo. It's so weird, usually I'm so excited to see my brother.

When we got back to my place my sister-in-law went to bed while my brother and I stayed up talking a little bit. I had been wanting my brother and Lolo to meet, but I wasn't pushing for it too hard because I didn't want to put any pressure on Lolo and our relationship (meeting the family) and because I hadn't actually told anyone in my family that Lolo and I are an item, although I've mentioned the fact that I've been hiking and running with him several times so they know he exists, at least. Lolo was really sweet about the whole thing, telling me he had no plans for the weekend he couldn't shift around so I could call him if I worked out a plan. So the problem was telling my brother. It took me all day to work up the nerve, but I finally sprang it on him. I did it horribly. All in one quick run-on sentence I said something like, "You know Lolo, the guy I've talked about hiking and running with, we're going out and I think it'd be cool if you guys could meet, do you think it would be ok if I invited him to come along with us tomorrow?" Of course my brother agreed, he could hardly say no, could he? Our plan was to go for a short hike, perhaps up Little Mt. Si. My brother went to bed and I called Lolo and invited him to come and he agreed.

So Sunday morning we went down to the Market for breakfast again, and during breakfast it started to rain again. Too hard, we thought, for a hike. But we continued with our plans anyway. We bought food for a picnic lunch from the Market while we were there. (If any of you are ever at Pike's Place Market in Seattle, you should stop by Beecher's Handmade Cheese and you should try their Flagship cheese. It's so yummy!) Lolo met us at my place and we drove out I-90 towards Little Mt. Si, but it was still really wet so we ended up at Snoqualmie Falls instead. We did the 1/2 mile walk down to the bottom of the falls and back and then had lunch at the picnic area at the top. We went back to my place afterwards and Lolo went home. The actual meeting of brother and boyfriend went fine. They didn't hit it off and become best friends or anything, but nothing bad happened. Actually, my brother was surprisingly quiet the whole time, so I don't really know what he was thinking. And after Lolo left we didn't discuss him any beyond my sister-in-law asking to know how we met. With the rest of the day I walked them over to the closest Half Price Books and took them out to CPK for dinner and then off to the airport.

Monday and Tuesday I was training as lead pharmacist. I've worked as lead before, but only on evening and only as a last resort. Monday I was lead while O'Malley was there and Tuesday I was lead while Miko was there. It was a little weird to do that, but actually that went just fine too. Tuesday after work Lolo came over and we went downtown to a fancy restaurant for dinner. On the way there he told me that since he had met my brother, it was time for me to meet a good friend of his. He told me that she's like the sister he never had and that when he needs to talk to someone about me, she's the one he goes to. We're going to go hang out and play pool next Tuesday. Oh man, I'm so nervous. Not so much for meeting her, but for the bit about hanging out and playing pool. It's such a closed environment...and I suck at pool!

After dinner he took me over to his place where we watched a DVD and snuggled on his couch. Afterwards we moved to his bed and I ended up staying the night. (Just so you people know, there has been no actual sex.) He took me home the next afternoon when he had to go to work (I had the day off). In the evening I went to a free CE dinner at El Gaucho. The talk was about hepatitis and it was pretty interesting, but it was much longer than my sleepy attention span. The food, however, was delicious. Last December I went to another free CE dinner at El Gaucho and they way undercooked the steak for my taste. So I told the waitress this time that I'd like mine well done if possible. Usually for these things they just cook everyone's the same. But they cooked it for me and it was wonderful. And then for dessert they brought us a small slice of cheesecake and small slice of chocolate ganache. I ate the cheesecake but saved the ganache for Lolo. I wrapped it up and took it by work and left it in the break room fridge for him.

One Good Thing: All my TPNs were completed before 9!
Song of the Day: Borrowed Home - SheDaisy
One Year Ago Today: No entry! :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->