Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Climb the highest tree with

2005-10-28 - 7:09 p.m.

It's interesting the way different people behave towards their families. And I guess by "families" I mean parents and siblings, not spouses and children. I've known all year that I'm going to be working this Thanksgiving, I just didn't know which shift. When this most recent work schedule was posted I found out that I'm going to be working at 7am on Thanksgiving morning, meaning my evening will be free for Thanksgiving dinner. This means absolutely nothing to me since my family will be hundreds of miles away. Lolo is also working Thanksgiving, but he's working in the evening. His family is here in the Seattle area and some a few hours away in eastern Washington. I asked him if he'd like to trade shifts with me. He had no idea why I would think he would want to. When I explained that if we traded shifts then he could have Thanksgiving dinner with his family, he still seemed to not entirely grasp why I would think he would want to do this. If I lived in the same area as my parents, assuming I ever managed to get myself out of their house, we'd probably still have dinner together at least once a week. Lolo told me he had no idea what his parents are going to be up to for Thanksgiving, maybe he'd ask them their plans. It amazes me.

All this week Lolo was working EOR shifts while I was working the 0800. With this schedule we work together for an hour and then have the same lunch break. We had lunch together Tuesday and Thursday and we planned to have lunch together today, but Lolo was having a rough morning. He overslept and didn't make it to work until 20 minutes late. Because of this he had some things he had to do during his lunch break and we decided that instead of having lunch together at my place as per usual, we'd just go out and have lunch together somewhere. This was all hastily arranged through covert on-the-job e-mailing and let's just suffice it to say we had a mix up about our meeting place, which further took away from our together time. Instead of a lovely bit of cuddling and kissing during our lunch break, we had to pretend to just be co-worker/friends having lunch together. I didn't even get to touch him.

I have no plans to see him tomorrow (I'd love to invite him over for a sleepover tomorrow night, but I'm afraid that would be too pushy/clingy), but I have him to myself all day Sunday. Somehow Lolo managed to maneuver me into making my plans for Sunday be a surprise for him. I'm not sure how that happened. My plans are actually a bit family-ish. I hope he doesn't mind. I plan to pick him up from his place and take him out to breakfast somewhere like a coffee shop. Then I want to go to a pumpkin patch and pick out pumpkins. Maybe go for a hay ride and buy some fresh autumn fruits and veggies. Then I'll bring him back to my place, we'll change clothes and walk down to the waterfront for lunch. Then I have tickets to see a play and afterwards we can walk down to Pike Place Market to pick up any fruits and veggies we weren't able to find at the pumpkin patch. We'll come back to my place and cook dinner together with our fresh fruits and veggies (plus some frozen chicken I have in the freezer), carve pumpkins while dinner is cooking, eat dinner, and spend the rest of the night being cozy together by jack-o-lantern light. What do you think, does this sound like a day a guy would like to have? Unfortunately, I have to work tele on Monday which means that I actually need to get in a good solid 8 hours of sleep Sunday night which means I have to make sure I get Lolo out of here at a decent hour. Hopefully that won't be too easy to do.

One Good Thing: Lunch with Lolo
Song of the Day: Come On, Come On - Mary Chapin-Carpenter
One Year Ago Today: No entry! :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->