Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Astonish the rest

2006-11-14 - 8:09 p.m.

This morning before work, Lolo and I went and picked out new glasses for me. The guy at the shop had a different method than I'm used to. Usually you just look through the racks and racks of frames until you find something you like. This guy told Lolo and I to pick out a bunch of frames that caught our eyes while he picked out a bunch too. We brought them over to a table where Lolo sat across from me as I tried them all on. Lolo had to sort them into "maybe" and "maybe not." Then I had to go through all of Lolo's maybe's and reject all the ones I immediately didn't like. Then the salesguy looked at all the ones that were left as I tried them on again and narrowed it down to three. Then I had to choose. I have to say it was faster than usual--but somehow I feel like I might've missed something. Oh well.

This salesguy also asked me where I was from because he couldn't place my accent. Nobody has asked me this for about four years now. Lolo thinks the guy's just nuts--I have no accent--but really, the guy was sure enough that I had an accent that he asked me about it. Not to mention the fact that he's not the first person to do so. I guess I have some sort of accent. I wonder, is it that I really have an accent or just that I talk so funny that people assume English must not be my first language. I have a habit of pausing in the middle of sentences at unusual spots. For example, if I were to say out loud that sentence I just typed, I probably would pause right after "habit of." "I have a habit of...pausing." At any rate, it's not very flattering to be told I talk funny.

He also told me that the frames I bought (before I chose them) make me look young, "like high school young." Lolo again disagreed, but wow, I didn't know that was still possible. Maybe young is a good thing. I don't need to look like an old lady. Actually, I'm a bit disappointed that I didn't choose a pair of frames that are a bit more different from what I already have, but I think these that I picked are safe.

Today one of the technicians at work put in her two weeks notice. We're already short staffed and now I have to figure out how to cover her shifts too. This includes three weeks of schedule that I already posted so I can't change around too much. Ergh! And she's gone from the schedule I've been writing for the two weeks around Christmas. What can I do? Unless my one available per diem tech agrees to work a lot I'm going to have to deny one tech vacation time he requested (it was already denied, but I was going to be able to get it for him anyway until this) and take away one of my intern's training on the transplant service. That sucks. I hope I can figure out a way around it.

Today Lolo made a shift trade with one our co-workers that gives him a whole day off in two weeks. It sucks for him because he traded into his dreaded MS3 weekend shift, but it's awesome for us because now we have a day when we can move. We can move all morning and we don't have to worry about returning the truck before we go to work at 3:30. I still have to work, but at least one of us doesn't.

One Good Thing: A set move date
Song of the Day: Why, Why, Why - Billy Currington
One Year Ago Today: No entry! :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->