Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Do you want to change me now?

2006-11-15 - 6:20 p.m.

Lolo and I donated blood after work today. Lolo really hates doing it, but for the most part, he's a good sport and goes along with it. As long I give him at least two weeks notice and he come up with any excuse not to. We planned this a couple of weeks ago. Unfortunately, today he forgot. I sent him a page at work today asking if he wanted to meet at my place or if I should meet him back at work since I got off before he did. He called me back not understanding why I would ask such a thing. And then I reminded him about donating blood. He was such an unhappy boy. When I met him after work he was pretty high up there on his grumpy scale. He wouldn't eat the Kit-Kat bar I'd gotten for him to get his blood sugar up. He would hardly talk to me. He wouldn't touch me, although he'd let me touch him. He sat in the waiting room with his head in his hands. He wouldn't look at me. He didn't perk up until we were walking back to my place afterwards. We stopped for dinner at a Thai restaurant on the way home and I gave him a back rub once we got here. Ah, my Lolo's back. He's taking a nice, warm shower now. He had a bit of a rough day at work, too, but mostly it was the blood thing. Can it really be so horrible? I have to admit, I don't enjoy it either. I don't like having my finger poked for the hematocrit check, I don't like when they stick the needle in my arm, I don't like sitting there for ten minutes with the needle poking out of me while a squeeze a squeezey toy, I don't like when they yank the needle out, I don't like wearing the wrap on my arm for four hours, and I don't like sitting in the cantina making small talk with the volunteer for fifteen minutes. But if that bit of discomfort can save someone's life, how is it not worth it? I'd go through much worse than that for someone's life. I'm going to do it, I might as well not agonize over it. But that's just my philosophy. I'm not him. And he's not me. And I love him no matter what.

One Good Thing: We donated blood
Song of the Day: Alyssa Cries - Jason Michael Carroll
One Year Ago Today: When your heart is just a mystery

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->