Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


When the road is flat

2006-11-19 - 5:47 a.m.

My parents are here visiting and have been since Thursday. Things are going pretty well. I definitely do enjoy their visits. Yesterday was the only day I managed to get off of work while they're here so yesterday we celebrated Thanksgiving. Trying to cook a Thanksgiving dinner in my little tiny apartment kitchen is always interesting, but we did downsize a bit. We just bought a turkey breast instead of the whole turkey and then we just did sweet potatoes and mashed potatoes and stuffing. All went well until I burned the stuffing. It was Stovetop too and I still managed to burn it. Oh well. Lolo was working yesterday 3:30 to midnight, but we timed dinner to happen during his lunch break and that worked out pretty well. We did that last year too but at that time Lolo had hardly met my parents. This time it was much more comfortable.

Yesterday we also drove around a little bit. I showed my parents half of my 50-mile cycling loop, we stopped at a nice Starbucks on Mercer Island for breakfast, drove up the West Lake Sammamish Parkway and through Redmond then back over the 520 floating bridge and up to Green Lake where my parents bought me my first Christmas present of the year--a new pair of running shoes. Hooray! I haven't actually been running in quite some time, but I certainly plan on it after I move.

Today I have to work a CCU weekend shift. Ugh. I technically get off at 3:30, but I told my parents not to expect me until 4:30. Last time I worked it I didn't finish until after 5, and that was after I skipped lunch entirely. Ugh!

One Good Thing: My parents are visiting
Song of the Day: Mountains - Lonestar
One Year Ago Today: No entry! :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->