Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


And boy are my arms tired...

2002-12-06 - 10:35 p.m. (Georgia Time)

So here I am in Georgia, safe and sound in my hotel room. I actually had a pretty eventless trip, which is always good. I woke up at about quarter to eight and finished up packing. Took a quick trip to the ATM and then my mom came to take me to the airport. She dropped me off at 10. By 10:15 I was through security and at my gate, but my plane didn't leave until 12.

In the airport I didn't see anyone I knew, but after I got on the plane I saw Slick and her husband, Fluffy and Kitty, and Bill Callen with his wife. I had an aisle seat and was sitting next to an older gentleman named Harold. His wife, Carol, was sitting a row back and across the aisle. When I realized they were together I offered to trade seats with her so they could sit by each other. They declined my offer for reasons I didn't understand and then Harold said to me, "Honey, after 46 years of marriage we don't need to sit next to each other all the time."

The gay man sitting across the aisle from me took an interest in the book I was reading. He'd never heard of Diana Gabaldon and he asked me what the book was about. It was sort of hard for me to say considering the fact that at that point I was only 30 pages into it. I told him it's a historical romance set in 16th century Scotland. Which set him off on how much he loves that era. I told him all my knowledge of that era I basically gleaned from "Braveheart." But then they started showing "Crocodile Hunter" on the overhead TVs so with a "Crikey" he plugged himself into his earphones and let me get back to my book.

When we were almost to Atlanta some guy near the front of the plane had a heart attack. From where I was I couldn't see a thing except one of the flight attendants rushing up the aisle with the defibrillator. When we landed the stewardess came over the intercom asking everyone to remain seated until they'd gotten the sick dude off the plane. I thought to myself, "Yeah, sure, everyone's going to jump up the moment this plane stops." But I was completely wrong. When the plane stopped nobody moved. We all peered up the aisle curiously, but nobody moved. I was really impressed.

After getting off the plane I met up with Slick, Julep, Fluffy and Kitty and we rode the subway to baggage claim. That's a first for me. I think Atlanta might win the prize for biggest airport I've ever been to. After baggage claim we went our separate ways. I asked the lady at the information desk where I could find Enterprise rental cars and she said, "Outside." I pressed her for a tad more information than that and she said, "Go outside. A shuttle comes every 10 minutes." So I went outside and waited. Kinda chilly in Atlanta and no shuttles were coming my way. So I asked the Delta curbside baggage check dude and he directed me around the other side of the building where I found the shuttle just pulling away from the curb. I waved it down and got in. The guy at the Enterprise place was pretty nice and really helpful. Turns out he is from Stockton and has an aunt in my home town. Isn't it funny that the first person I meet in Atlanta knows were my home town is while a lot of people in Sacramento have never heard of it? Anyway, he waived the extra fee for people under 25 because I am a fellow Stocktonite. Normally I would object to being lumped into that group, but given the circumstances, I decided not to.

Finding my hotel was a breeze and now here I am. I considered going out to find something to eat, but since it's dark and I have no idea where I am and no map, I decided not to risk getting lost. I ate my in-flight snack mix which I had saved and called it dinner. I forgot to bring the schedule for tomorrow's UHC meeting with me so I don't know what time I'm supposed to be there. I've decided to get up at 6, maybe pick up some breakfast here at the complimentary continental breakfast and then head out. If I'm late, I'm late, who cares? When I turned on the clock radio to make sure my alarm tomorrow morning would have sufficient volume and a decent station, on came a song from Roger's and Hammerstein's "Oklahoma!" Is this a Georgia thing?

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day:
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->