Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Let's get ready to rum ball!

2002-12-24 - 11:15 a.m.

Ok, so I took the "Cube Test" today. If you want to take it, you should take it before you read what I have to say so I don't go putting ideas in your head. Also, if you want to have a clue what I'm talking about I might suggest you go there first. So my cube was about two inches on each side and it was sitting in a patch of shade beneath some scrub brush. It's kind of a bluish gray color and it is made out of wood. Nobody asked, but there is a lizard sitting on top of my cube. The ladder is a regular old 6-foot ladder. There is a saguaro cactus a few feet from my cube and the ladder is leaning against the cactus on the side away from the cube. About ten feet away from the cube in the direction opposite the cactus is a horse. It is a dark brown horse and it is just standing there snuffling the ground as if it were waiting for something. (Actually, my first response to being told there was a horse in the desert was, "WTF, there's no horse here," but after deciding to play along with the scenario I managed to come up with the brown snuffler.) This desert was a very Pima County-esque desert. The storm was a thunder storm--a whole lot of noise but no rain--rumbling off in the distance over the mountains. There are two flowers on the saguaro cactus. They are, of course, saguaro cactus flowers, smallish and white. Ok, here's the deal. The cube is me, the ladder is my friends, the horse is my lover, the storm is my troubles, and the flowers are my children. The desert is supposed to be my outlook on life, but I think that's silly. I was told, "Imagine a desert. In this desert there is a cube." I had no choice in the matter. If they had said "Imagine a cube. Where is it?" and I had picked the desert, then you could tell me that my outlook on life is like a desert. But as it stands, nope. Ok, that took up all of...not nearly enough time! But I'd better get back to work...

**********

Today is Christmas Eve and I'm at work. Not the first time this has happened and highly unlikely to be the last. But it's not so bad. Work hasn't been hectic hardly at all and I haven't pissed anyone off yet. Mostly I've been eating like an oinker. We had a potluck brunch today which basically meant that people could bring in breakfast foods or lunch foods and then we can eat all day long. We have one pharmacist here who is also a professional chef in his spare time. He brought in an eggnog pie. Oh my, that was good. I'm taking my lunch break right now, but I'm certainly not eating lunch!

Yesterday morning I was in a really bad mood. But then somewhere in the middle I changed over and started being in a good mood. While I was in a bad mood I came up with a whole bunch of stuff to write about here. But thinking back on those things, they all seem so silly now. So I guess I'll wait until I'm in a bad mood again to write about them :)

I still haven't received all of the stuff I ordered from Amazon yet. I'm sort of annoyed by that because I payed more for the special 2-day shipping and it is still not here. Maybe it will be delivered today and will be waiting for me to wrap when I get home. You should see all the presents under the tree at home. Personally, I could leave them there forever. We don't need to unwrap them. For some reason I love to look at presents under the tree. It just makes me feel all warm and happy.

Do you know the worst part about Christmas in the hospital? Nobody wants to be here. The doctors, nurses, and pharmacists don't want to be here. The patients don't want to be here. The patients' families sure don't want to be here. I pass by the waiting areas and I feel so sorry for all the people I see there. We've been doing a ton of "DC Home" orders today. They will DC anyone who can survive for a few days outside of the hospital just so they can be home for the holidays. I wouldn't want to be working ops on December 26th when all of those people come back to be readmitted.

I'd better get back to work again. Lunch break's over. And in case I don't see you before then, have a very merry Christmas!

**********

Yup, I'm still at work. Only 45 minutes or so to go until I get to go home. I'm really nauseated though. I don't know why. I wonder what bit of something I ate upset my stomach. But really I haven't eaten anything since before my lunch break. My family is at home waiting for me to come home to have Christmas dinner. Isn't that nice of them? I honestly didn't expect that they would. I mean, hold off dinner until 8pm? My dad is usually starved by 5. Well, me too, really. But anyway, when I get home there will be a big wonderful dinner to eat and here I am nauseated. Thinking about dinner is making it worse. Ugh.

Anyway, we've been having periods that are really busy, but right now there is no action. We're all sort of dead here. Tricia went downstairs to party with her friends in SI. And left me here to hold down the fort. Considering the fact that I'm managing that just fine while writing a journal entry, I don't begrudge her that at all. Heh, gives me more privacy, actually. (Woo-hoo! An order!)

Throughout the day I've been keeping up with the journals on my favorites list. Not too much going on out there. Mostly reading SquirrelX. Recently she's been going through quite an ordeal with her husband. She is in the process of a separation or a divorce. In her journal she said, "I don't know why it was so hard for them to understand that leavin' a crappy marriage on purpose can be every bit as painful as losin' a happy one against your will." She is the first person I've heard actually say that and it's a relief, really. There are so many country songs about being dumped, but I can't think of one that talks about how painful it can be to dump someone else. It's sort of comforting to know that other people feel the same way I do. I can't believe how much turmoil I've been going through because of breaking up with Stretch. I was fine at first, but it's been getting worse. Especially since meeting Somnambulist. I miss Stretch. I actually have to make a conscious effort to remember all the reasons I had for breaking up with him. I keep coming to the conclusion, that yes, I did make the right choice, but for some reason it doesn't feel like it anymore. At least not all the time. Yesterday on the way to work I was listening to the radio and on came Pam Tillis singing "Please." Back about two years ago when Stretch and I first started getting serious I used to totally connect with that song. It talks about "Please let him be the right one...the dad, the friend, the man..." Which was totally what I was thinking at the time. Please, let him be. And I thought he was. Hearing that song made me miss him so badly I was driving down the freeway in tears. Then after that the next song that came on was sung by a man talking about being dumped. I don't remember which song it was now, but it just made things worse. It took me a while to get out of being in that mood yesterday. Is there any way to speed up the process of getting over someone? I don't want to get back together with him, so why can't I get over him?

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day:
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->