Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


I'll be right here

2002-12-27 - 9:48 p.m.

Today was a just another usual day. I woke up, got dressed, went to work, had to sit down during rounds because I thought I might pass out (or throw up, I wasn't sure which was more imminent), got chewed out by Milkshake because I am stupid, got talked down to by the Mole because I am stupid, worked hard to get my antibiotics right, got chewed out by Scotch because I am stupid, finished entering my notes, drove home, ate dinner, watched E.T., sat down here.

I entered that contest on BookCrossing today. At least I think I did. I will be irked if for some reason I messed it up and I didn't. I took a picture of the book in the waiting room of my ICU. I was supposed to leave it somewhere where St. Nick would want to leave holiday cheer and I have trouble thinking of a place more in need of cheer than an ICU waiting room. I am the 23rd entry so far. Wouldn't it be cool if I won the $250? I have no idea what I'd do with it, but it would definitely be cool.

As I said, I watched E.T. today. It was sort of funny because the last time I watched it I was about Gertie's age and it really didn't make much sense. Especially that whole ending bit when they came into his house in the space suits. But this time I was able to follow the story quite well and I even understood the medical babble they were spouting out around the dying E.T. Last time I saw the movie I thought they were killing E.T. but this time I realized that they really were doing their very best to save him. Although I have no idea what made them think that E.T.'s physiology was comparable to a human's and that he'd respond to the same treatments that people respond to. Especially considering the fact that they had just stated that his DNA wasn't even comprised of the same number of base pairs as all other life on Earth. It was also sort of amusing to hear them use bretyllium, since these days no one even makes bretyllium anymore.

And guess what! It's Friday and I've remembered about the Friday Five. It's a minor miracle. And here we go:

1. What was your biggest accomplishment this year?

I'd have to say my biggest accomplishment this year is finishing up my degree and getting my license.

2. What was your biggest disappointment?

Another easy question to answer. My biggest disappointment this year is falling out of love with my boyfriend. Ex-boyfriend, I mean. At the beginning of the year I honestly thought I would be engaged by now. Instead I'm single.

3. Will you be making any New Year's resolutions?

Of course I will. I will make the same ones I make every year. Stop picking my cuticles. Stop biting my lips. Lose some weight. I've made the same resolutions every year since about 7th grade. I think once I kept the first two for a whole month. And one year I did lose about 20 pounds and I've kept it off. But that was just because I moved out of the dorms and into my own apartment where I had to eat my own cooking.

4. Where will you be at midnight? Do you wish you could be somewhere else?

I'm going to assume you mean midnight on New Year's. At midnight on New Year's I will be in the living room of my parents' home. We will watch the ball drop on the TV, my parents will kiss, we will go to bed. Yes, I wish I could be somewhere else. I love my parents, but I'd really prefer to spend New Year's with my true love. Curled up on a couch under a blanket. I've yet to have someone kissable handy at midnight on New Year's.

5. Aside from staying up late, do you have any other New Year's traditions?

I'd like to refer you to the answer to the first half of question 4.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day:
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->